Chocolate Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is a great recipe, but I do have to agree that it comes out a little chewy. I made one batch of chocolate caramel corn and then made a second batch of just caramel and almonds. I mixed the two together and it turned out great. I also cooked the popcorn for about 50 minutes and it seemed to make my second batch a little crunchier...I'm sure it helped that it only had one coating instead of two. Also, had trouble with the popcorn sticking to the waxed paper. I used cooking spray on the second batch and it was better. **Just made one more batch (easy Christmas gifts!) and used aluminum foil with a little cooking spray to let the popcorn cool. No sticking...yeah! So ditch the waxed paper and save yourself alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
The flavor was really good, but make sure you bake it long enough. It was my first time making any kind of caramel corn and it was soft instead of crunchy. I'll know better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is great. We added toasted almonds and it was fabulous. Only problem was that the corn severely stuck to the wax paper. I want to make this again, but have no idea what to do so that it won't stick or be greasy from cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I boiled the sugar to hard ball (using a candy thermometer) and it was still really sticky. I also think there needs to be more popcorn...there was almost too much goo and not enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is great! we had relatives over for a game of D&D and the adults as well as the kids could not keep their hands out of the bowl! I agree with th eearlier statement"don't taste this without the chocolate, you will want to eat it all." I cheated and used microwave popcorn! it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This makes some good popcorn!! My 2 year old was eating it with both hands when it was out on the counter cooling! Just don't taste it before you get the chocolate on there or you will end up with just carmel corn, 'cuz it tastes pretty good, that way, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Just the thing or a chocolate fix! I followed the directions but instead of chocolate chips used some hershey kisses w/ almonds that I had! Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
really yummy!!!! mine was just the right crunch, i also didnt do the wax paper step, it was easy to cool in the pan. will be making again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States