Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Best treat I have made, up to date, from this site. I used crushed cashews, instead of peanuts. It made it a bit classier. I took the advice of the wax paper and freezing the whole thing before cutting it. Ingenious! EVERYONE loved it, and hated me. I am the reason they are all fat! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geek.equals.hot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
There were a lot of steps, but they were easy and well worth it. This candy is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Simple, and simply divine! I put the squares in those candy wrappers, and they looked beautiful. Didn't change a thing, but did put each layer in the freezer inbetween stages to make sure I didn't have to wait to spread the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I have wanted to make this for a while now and finally did. It does take some time but the results are worth it! I did what others have mentioned and put down parchment paper in the pan just lift it up and peel off very easily. I highly recommend doing it this way or else it may be a bit hard once it comes time to cutting and getting the candies out. Make sure you put in frig to set before each layer. It tasted much better than a snickers and i couldnt believe i actually made them. I would suggest that once the last layer of chocolate is on and is partially set (not soupy but before it gets hard) that you start to cut your pieces in the pan this way the chocolate wont crack once set when you cut it. You can then go back later and recut and it will be very simple to get out. I put mine in a small 8 X 8 pan and at first didnt look like it would be much but after cutting out a bunch of 2 inch pieces i realized it could be cut even more into about 1 inch pieces, i then put it on a decorative wrapper. It really is a filling candy. All in all it made alot and im glad i didnt double the recipe. I had put in only a cup of peanuts but will use the suggested 1 1/2 cups next time. Now i wish i only had company over or somewhere to bring these as they are very impressive. I will definitely put this on my list of things to make during each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is amazing, worth the time! Going to try it with dark chocolate next time. Thanks so much for a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaile's Momma
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
YUMMY!!! I can't say enough good things about these! I added crushed peanuts to the top of one batch. They are absolutely delicious!!! I will say that they need to stay flat at all times because the caramel will slide causing a big mess but these are really fabulous... We will definitely be making these in the future, possibly again before Christmas :) Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaile's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The size you cut these really makes a difference! They are very sweet so smaller is better. I made them on Friday and it took all day making sure the layers were set, then letting get to room temp to cut them without the top cracking... I was running late to my dinner party. So I cut them quickly into 1''x2'' bars thinking more would be better. No one really commented on these except to say they were very rich and sweet. Like they had to choke them down! After all that work I wanted to salvage them so I cut into 1'' squares like the recipe states, then cut them again diagonally. I brought these to a family get together Sunday and people were seriously groaning (in a good way) while eating them and SEVERAL people asked me to bring these EVERY year! I am a good cook & baker, but I don't think I have ever gotten a response like that before! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are AMAZING! i think "heaven bars" or "everything bars" are more suitable names. This is one of the best desserts i've ever made, and trust me, i've made a lot. For the caramel layer i suggest making homemade caramel- it's wayyyy better than store-bought. to do this, mix: 1 cup graham cracker crumbs (i don't think they're required though) 3/4 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar 1/3 cup milk 1/2 cup butter in a saucepan and boil for 5 minutes. Pour that on the filling and refridgerate, then do the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made these for the Bake-Off Contest at work, and won 1st place! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States