Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very good candy. Next time I will leave out the peanut butter----but it's very good with it too. The nougat is what I love!! I lined my pan with parchment paper and had no trouble getting them out of the pan. A huge hit at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great recipe but the bottom of my candy stuck at the bottom even after I sprayed the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerilett16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very rich, but very good. Tastes like a Snickers Bar with a slightly heavier peanut butter flavor. Must keep refrigerated or else the caramel separates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was a part of my Christmas tray this year. It was a huge success. Numerous people said it was the best part of my tray and asked for the recipe. One thing I may try at a different time is using semisweet chips with the peanut butter for both the first and last layer for a dark choc. treat! This was the first time I made it so I didn't want to wander too far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is absolutely yummy and so addictive. I am not a fan of marshmallow in candy, but this one is wonderful. Everyone that has received this as a gift or tasted it, wants the recipe. If I could give it more stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe and directions exactly, but lined the pan with parchment paper like others suggested so there was no need to butter the pan. They came out great, made about 84 one inch squares, with some excess from the sides that my husband and daughter were happy to taste test. I also pressed little candy cane decorations on the top to give them something a little extra and put them in mini muffin wrappers. They look really nice and will be a nice addition to the cookie tray. And this wasnt as much work as it sounds like. I just made the first layer, spread in the pan, freeze while making the second layer, and so on. And since the bottom and top layer are the same just use two pans and put your ingredients in each at the same time, then wait to heat the second pan until you are on the final layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Sadly, I will probably never know how good this recipe is because I’m afraid to give it a second try. Although I followed the instructions closely, I had a problem with the second layer and most likely overcooked my nougat. Its consistency falls somewhere between caramel and brittle. It is very hard to cut, but doesn’t shatter like brittle. Once I suspected my error, I decide not to finish the recipe and waste more ingredients. Perhaps the caramel layer would have softened the nougat, but I would not risk wasting more time and ingredients. I was cooking on a gas range. Perhaps, the heat needed to be a bit lower. Oh well, these treats won’t be going in my boxes of homemade candies this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
AMAZING!!!! will be making these every year for christmas candy gifts! I let the top layer cool just a bit, then cut into squares...the results were perfect!! thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Makes so many! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I prefer to give these a 4 1/2 but, that is not an option. I have made these several years in a row now because they are that good. the reason I didn't give them a 5 is because of either the nougat filling or the caramel layer. If these get even slightly warm, the start to ooze. this year when i make them I might have to dip the whole squre into chocolate to keep them more stable. As for taste - these are amazing and do taste like fresh made snickers bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States