Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Fabulous! Love the recipe as it is so easy to make and so yummy! Our family loved it! Will be making this more often. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Disaster, first layer was not enough and did not melt into anything usable, 2nd layer Marshmallow, runs at room temp/ 3rd layer caramel also runs/ the 4th layer turned out well i learned to add some evap milk to melt it and make it smooth and easy to apply. have to freeze it to keep from melting. Need some kids to eat it, won't do to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
very good and popular at the party I brought this to. everyone liked it but I personally don't love it. I followed the recipe to a T and while I guess it is impressive to make yourself, I think it just needs something more to make it 5 stars for me. mine also stuck quite a bit to the bottom of the pan and I both sprayed it with non-stick cooking spray and froze the bottom layer of chocolate. I'd estimate 25% of the chocolate remained in the pan. also, it definitely needs to be kept refrigerated, the caramel will ooze out of the squares if it gets soft. I most likely won't make this again but I appreciate the chance to try it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved it and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this to give to my Snickers-loving dad for Christmas. He couldn't keep my mom out of it! I followed the recipe exactly. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
ok...all I can say is "wow". this is sooo yummy! just finished making a batch with semi-sweet chips...holy moly. in cold weather climes (it's 25 degrees outside), just set it outside for the in between steps, instead of the frige: only needs 15 minutes each time on the porch versus the 1hr in the fridge. this stuff is deadly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was soooo yummy! Everyone loved them. The only thing I have to disagree with is that it doesn't really taste like Snickers. But it's its own fantastic taste! I skipped the spray and used parchment paper instead. Just take the whole batch out of the pan, flip upside down and peel the paper off. I followed the recipe exaclty. It's a lot of steps and a bit time consuming but it's so worth it and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
WOW!!! These were even better then everyone made them sound. They really are better then a Snickers. I made two batches and the second one I used a little less chocolate on the top. I liked that better because otherwise the chocolate seemed to overwhelm it (personal taste I guess). I also used cooking spray on the first batch but I think I over did it because you could taste the "PAM" flavor on some of the pieces. So be careful to "lightly" spray it. Next time I am going to try some wax paper as others suggested. I didn't have a hard time cutting them I just used a really sharp knife. Don't be intimated by all the steps. I just filled the sink with soapy water and while I was waiting for each step to set in the fridge I washed everything I had just used. It seems like a lot of steps but they are really quick and easy and don't seem that bad when your into it. Even if this was really hard to make I would still do it because it is so worth it!!! Thank you Thank you for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This candy is wonderful! As everyone has said, tastes like a Snickers bar. Very intense recipe and time consuming to make and cut up, but worth it. I'll definately make it again for a holiday or special day. Put it in a nice gift tin or box and it makes a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazing. I didn't have any trouble with the bottom layer sticking like others did. I used non-stick spray, and it came out of the pan perfectly. Definitely cut it into one inch squares because it is so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States