Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is everyone's favorite! I have been asked for this recipe many, many times. Everytime the holidays come around, people start asking, are you going to make that candy with the caramel and nougat in it? Truly better than a Snickers bar. And a tip: coat the inside of your 9x13 pan with a thin layer of non-stick cooking spray, then freeze the bottom layer before adding the other layers. That will help it not to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are very yummy!!! Suggestion - let them warm up a little before you cut them because the chocolate top will crack and come off otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Awesome!! After reading the other reviews, I used a smaller pan, it was an odd sized foil pan, about 10x9, this make the layers a little thicker. I lined the pan in foil (just to give me something to lift it out with) and than a piece of waxed paper. When completed, I just lifed it out and inverted it. The waxed paper pulled away really easier. I did cut it one piece at a time in 1 inch squares. They look and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was soooo yummy! Everyone loved them. The only thing I have to disagree with is that it doesn't really taste like Snickers. But it's its own fantastic taste! I skipped the spray and used parchment paper instead. Just take the whole batch out of the pan, flip upside down and peel the paper off. I followed the recipe exaclty. It's a lot of steps and a bit time consuming but it's so worth it and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are AMAZING! i think "heaven bars" or "everything bars" are more suitable names. This is one of the best desserts i've ever made, and trust me, i've made a lot. For the caramel layer i suggest making homemade caramel- it's wayyyy better than store-bought. to do this, mix: 1 cup graham cracker crumbs (i don't think they're required though) 3/4 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar 1/3 cup milk 1/2 cup butter in a saucepan and boil for 5 minutes. Pour that on the filling and refridgerate, then do the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Thank you Stephanie for the wonderful recipe! I made it and entered it in a Cooking Contest at my Parks & Recreation Department and won a "Gold Medal" with it. I did follow some of the suggestions from all of the wonderful cooks out there and I had no problems with it at all. I did line my pan with parchment paper and totally chilled each layer before adding the next. Another tip I followed was to allow the top layer to chill for a bit and then I scored it with a very sharp knife. I scored it into 1x1 inch squares and when it was totally chilled I had no trouble cutting it. I did remove it from the pan in one big piece using the parchment paper and then cut it. I also heated my knife under hot water and cleaned it often. I wanted perfectly cut pieces for the contest. The recipe and the hints did not disappoint. One 13x9 pan makes a ton and it will be a wonderful addition to my Christmas Goodies I pass out to friends and familly. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made these for Christmas, and they were a BIG hit!! Everyone loved them! My husband thought they were the best thing I made this year. I cut them in smaller squares and put them in little mini cupcake papers (the ones for candy) to dress them up a little. They looked like they were bought at the store! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I made this as part of my Christmas baking, and it was a huge hit! Kind of like a Snickers bar, but much creamier and tastier! I will definitely make this again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I have wanted to make this for a while now and finally did. It does take some time but the results are worth it! I did what others have mentioned and put down parchment paper in the pan just lift it up and peel off very easily. I highly recommend doing it this way or else it may be a bit hard once it comes time to cutting and getting the candies out. Make sure you put in frig to set before each layer. It tasted much better than a snickers and i couldnt believe i actually made them. I would suggest that once the last layer of chocolate is on and is partially set (not soupy but before it gets hard) that you start to cut your pieces in the pan this way the chocolate wont crack once set when you cut it. You can then go back later and recut and it will be very simple to get out. I put mine in a small 8 X 8 pan and at first didnt look like it would be much but after cutting out a bunch of 2 inch pieces i realized it could be cut even more into about 1 inch pieces, i then put it on a decorative wrapper. It really is a filling candy. All in all it made alot and im glad i didnt double the recipe. I had put in only a cup of peanuts but will use the suggested 1 1/2 cups next time. Now i wish i only had company over or somewhere to bring these as they are very impressive. I will definitely put this on my list of things to make during each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were very good, although very sweet. They are best cut in small pieces. The only thing about them I don't like is that the bottom layer does not come up off the pan very well...but making sure they are very thoroughly chilled before cutting helps some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States