Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
WAYYYYY TOO SWEET!!!! I didn't have a problem taking the candy out of the pan, however, it is rather thin and messy. We had to eat it with a fork, my girls who are big chocolate lovers, didn't even finish their small piece. I won't be making this again, but I would recommend that others try a graham cracker crust or something that allows this to be more manageable. Each layer tasted great as I was making it, but all together is just too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
OH MY GOD. No one could stop eating this stuff! I've resigned myself to only making it once a year around the holidays so I have the rest of the year to lose the weight I gain by eating half the tray! This is probably the best candy I've ever made. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I'm not sure why I didn't get it as I was making the layers, but it was sure a tasty surprise when I took the first bite and instantly thought "Snickers!" My mom and aunt make a recipe similar to this. They keep the candy in the freezer until ready to be put out. Caramel doesn't melt as quickly. Just be carefult when you bit in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is an outstanding recipe. I was able to make the bottom layer and the top layer by melting in the microwave for several minutes on defrost. This candy makes everyone rave and ask for your recipe ! Thanks Merry CHRISTmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRIBEFORGOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This recipe (well, very similar recipe) has been in my family and I LOVE it! We call them "Snickers Bars." The only difference I've used is melting the caramels with water. I'll try this version next time I make them. I just wanted to note that if you are thinking of making these bars, they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Wonderful recipe Big hit over the holidays. Had problems removing from pan. Bottom layer would not come out cleanly. Next time I will make a cookie crumb crust then add first layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was soooo good! But like another user said, if it is not refrigerated, the caramel will melt fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipie is awesome. My family is always asking me to make it and so are my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDENTITY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I could not believe the response I got from this candy. Everyone asked for more and talked about how tasty it was. We nicknamed it "the Snicker candy." It was a bit time consuming to make just because the layers had to cool but it was well worth it. The layers looked for beautiful once the candy was cut. I will use this recipe over and over. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States