Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Loved them! Forget the teaspoons and smashing. Put the last of the batter in the freezer- and then when bottom is done dump the chilled batter on to a large sheet of wax paper. Cover with another sheet and finger press or use a rolling pin to flatten. You can use the wax paper to flip the thin sections on to your hand and place on top of the brownie. The first time I made them I refrigerated the batter and only finger smashed small amounts between the wax paper. The second time I dumped all of it and used a rolling pin. Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were really good. However, the caramel layer sunk to the bottom and made the whole thing kind of runny. Maybe my bottom layer wasn't completely done? Not sure. But they were yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I got a recipe very similar to this about 9 years ago. But mine called for sweetened condenced milk. This is by far the most requested thing i bake. And i bake a lot! The brownies are just amazing. Try this if you havn't already, it's worth the time it take to mix everything up. Instead of peeling oodles of wrapped caramels, i just buy the 10 bag of caramel bits at the store. I'll add 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk to the cake batter, and then add the rest of the can to the caramels and microwave and stir them until they are melted. If you melt them on the stove and the bottom burns, no biggie, you can use the burnt caramel anyway, it's all still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lehmbeck
Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were just okay. I'm always leery of making recipes using a boxed cake mix because the end result usually tastes a little bit artificial to me, and this recipe is no exception. I love the idea of filling a brownie with chocolate chips and caramel, but it would have been a thousand times better with a "real", from-scratch brownie recipe rather than a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These tasted better than they looked. I made them for a aprty and ended up not taking them but wish that I had as I can not stop from eating them at home :) It seems like there's not enough batter to cover the bottom and top layers of the brownies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebeckf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were pretty good, but mine did not turn out like the picture and weren't 'to die for'. The brownie part was much lighter in color. I think they would be a lot better if I use a Devil's Food Cake mix instead of German Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a little extra work for a brownie, but according to the family it is worth it! I followed the recipe as written, but needed additional cooking time as it was not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Here is a great twist on this recipe... try using a yellow cake mix in place of the german chocolate cake mix- I'm telling you it's to die for!! Follow the recipe exactly the same, just use a yellow cake mix instead! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Have made this recipe since the early 80s, it is good with any chocolate cake mix if you don't have German Chocolate. It works great with most of a jar of caramel sauce in lieu of unwrapping all the caramels and making the sauce with evap. milk. It is worth the trouble to make the little "batter patties" to cover the caramel layer. It turns out great and it's also known as "Better than Sex" Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was asked by a co-worker to bake some caramel brownies for his birthday. Having never made them, I chose this recipe based on all of the rave reviews. All of my co-workers agree that "this was the best thing you ever baked!" That is quite a comment considering all of the baking I do! Can't wait to make them again! They were so rich and yummy! I loved that the caramel stayed gooey on the inside of the brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States