Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
These are a serious sugar overdose. Super dense, super full of sugar. I use sweetened condensed milk instead of just evaporated, and devils food cake instead of German chocolate. I've had people pay me to make them time and time again. Not for the faint at heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These are the best brownies that I have ever had. They are so rich and chocolaty! All of my coworkers devoured these in no time. I have made these a couple of times now and have even made them with a peanut butter filling (Crunchy Peanut Butter/Graham Cracker Crumbs/Confectioners Sugar) Same rave reviews. As for making the top layer, I found it easier to cut out parchment paper to the size of the pan and spread the top layer on the paper to place on top. A lot easier than flattening the balled brownie mix one-by-one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These were awesome! I brought then to a picnic and they were gone in minutes. Thank goodness I cut them small! I agree they were a little time consuming(that top layer) but so worth it. I made them the night before and cut them in the morning, and they were very easy to cut. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
These brownies tastes UNBELIEVABLE! I didn't have caramel so only used the choc chips layer in the center and mixed in chopped hazelnuts. Used condensed milk instead of eavop milk as we dind't have any. It goes perfectly with a hot mug of ginger tea. I finished the whole batch by myself. Will be trying it next with vanilla cake mix for variation. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I would rate this 4 and 1/2 stars. It would have been a 5 but the batter is very difficult to work with and it takes a long time. Those are my only complaints. I had them for a cook out and served them with coffee ice cream on top. mmmmm! everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was very interesting to work with. First off I want to let everyone know that I made the mistake of using 2 cake mixes instead of one and had to double up on all the other ingredients. This is what happends when you have a 2 year old in the kitchen with you! Anyway after this I only kept the amount of choc. chips and caramel the same and it came out great. The dough was very thick and hard to spread. This is why I think it was good that I made the mistake of using 2 cake mixes. It was easier to cover the bottom of pan. Use a metal pan...trust me! It was ready in 21 minutes and very rich. I used a triple chocolate betty crocker cake mix and a devil food cake mix. It was really really sweet. So be warned! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Loved them! Forget the teaspoons and smashing. Put the last of the batter in the freezer- and then when bottom is done dump the chilled batter on to a large sheet of wax paper. Cover with another sheet and finger press or use a rolling pin to flatten. You can use the wax paper to flip the thin sections on to your hand and place on top of the brownie. The first time I made them I refrigerated the batter and only finger smashed small amounts between the wax paper. The second time I dumped all of it and used a rolling pin. Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were really good. However, the caramel layer sunk to the bottom and made the whole thing kind of runny. Maybe my bottom layer wasn't completely done? Not sure. But they were yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I got a recipe very similar to this about 9 years ago. But mine called for sweetened condenced milk. This is by far the most requested thing i bake. And i bake a lot! The brownies are just amazing. Try this if you havn't already, it's worth the time it take to mix everything up. Instead of peeling oodles of wrapped caramels, i just buy the 10 bag of caramel bits at the store. I'll add 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk to the cake batter, and then add the rest of the can to the caramels and microwave and stir them until they are melted. If you melt them on the stove and the bottom burns, no biggie, you can use the burnt caramel anyway, it's all still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Lehmbeck
Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were just okay. I'm always leery of making recipes using a boxed cake mix because the end result usually tastes a little bit artificial to me, and this recipe is no exception. I love the idea of filling a brownie with chocolate chips and caramel, but it would have been a thousand times better with a "real", from-scratch brownie recipe rather than a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States