Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These are excellent. I have made them 4 times and had success 3 times. DO NOT USE A GLASS PAN. They did not cook through all the way and were very bad. I used a metal 9X11 pan the next 3 times and they turned out perfect. Very moist and chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
OMG!! I have made these about 1000 times. Actually am making them again tonight. This is absolutely excellent and my hubby..my hubbys friends and coworkers ask for these all the time. All I have to say is DO AS INSTRUCTED! (Although I do have to say I put more batter on the bottom of the pan than top, seems to work out better)Do not make the cake mix (as on the back of the box) Do exactly as the instructions say to do in THIS recipe and it will turn out perfectly!! The only thing I would change is: if your husband KNOWS you are making these: HIDE THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~susakins~

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This didn't work for me at all, it was very hard to get out of the pan and very sugar gritty and greasy. The only thing I can think of is maybe the chocolate cake mix is supposed to be prepared according to the box with the eggs and milk? If so the recipe should have stated that, it just says add the cake mix????? I might try it again and will add to my review. Seems everyone else likes them so there must be something to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
These brownies are AMAZING. I've made them 5 times since I discovered the recipe here and they just get better. Once I was forced to use caramel syrup and it was just as good, as well as a nice time saver. I always use Devil's Food and milk chocolate chips, it's important to put the remainder of the batter in the fridge while the first layer cooks--it's much easier to work w/ when it's cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I accidentally made this recipe with sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk and they were fabulous - the only way my husband will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I normally avoid recipes with packaged cake mixes, but you will NEVER know that one was used in this recipe. These were the best brownies I've ever made. I wondered if I was missing a liquid ingredient while mixing the batter, but the directions are correct. The batter is very thick and hard to stir, but that the way it is supposed to be. We had so many Christmas treats at work this year, but this was the most popular. The brownies are gooey. Don't cut them until they have completely cooled. I made them at night and cut them the next morning. If I had to describe these brownies in one word, it would be "decadent."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I had issues also!:( It exploded in the oven. Is the cake mix suppose to be mixed up like the directions on the back of the cake mix box...or no?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
These were delicious. Make sure u stir your batter long enough for it to become totally "wet" to avoid grainy brownies that some have complained about. These will probably be the best brownies you ever taste, espeically if you like Turtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I did not have the german chocolate cake mix, but used double chocolate instead. They were delicious! I think any chocolate cake mix would work. These are VERY RICH!!! If you want the richest sweetest (cake-like) brownie you have ever had try this recipe! Cut them small and be ready to give some away to a friend (unless you want to gain 10 pounds... or if you have better self-control than I do) : ) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRITS:Girl Raised In The South

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by URSPIDER02
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Yum! I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and I can't imagine how sweet they would be if I had used milk chocolate. If you are generally a dark chocolate fan I would recommend sticking with semi. The only bad thing about these is the time it takes to unwrap the caramels! I will have to put up a picture soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States