Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were exceptional. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are great! I had a little difficulty with the top. You have to press the batter VERY thin to cover the top of all the brownies, which is a bit time consuming. I did not make any changes to the recipe. They taste better than they look in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are my go-to brownies--I've made them dozens of times. As other reviewers have said--follow the recipe. Also, I usually bake them hours (if not a day) before I need them. The extra time makes it much easier to cut them; otherwise, you might have a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are very dangerous brownies, they are way too delish. I made them for several people at Christmas on a lark, never made them before, and they all came back a week later cursing me for making them gain pounds and asking me to make more. These are very good but I would adjust the recipe next time to use a little less caramel and use all semi-sweet chips. The caramel already sugars the brownies heavily, you don't need the extra sweetness of milk chocolate. I will also save out some of the melted chocolate to pour a thin layer on top to finish it. And maybe a little more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My Godmother gave me this recipe years ago and I have yet to meet someone who doesn't LOVE it. My fiance is a brownie fiend and he always requests these instead of cake for his birthday. The only thing we do different is we don't add pecans. There are very few times when I feel it is necessary to add nuts to a recipe, and this is not one of them, but if you're one of those people who loves pecans/walnuts/etc in their brownies you'll probably love this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Every year since the 1980's, my kids now adults with their own kids, beg me to fix these luscious bars at Christmas. They take a while...but definitely worth it. I do use semi-sweet chocolate chips instead and only 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I got this recipe from my husbands grandma before she died. So we called it Grandma Brownies! The difference (it does make a difference), is i used 3/4 cup margarine (oleo back in the day) not butter! And i use sweetened condensed milk (usually). When doing sweetened condensed milk it is 1/3 for 'kraft' caramels and 1/3 c with the cake mixture! And of course we freeze them! Don't tell anyone our secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I don't normally rate recipes low since I often "tweak" them so much, but I followed this one completely and it was a waste! My brownies turned out very greasy with an "undercooked-like" texture, even though I did not use a glass pan and I cooked them exactly as long as the recipe called for. The taste couldn't even save the texture, as it wasn't anything to write home about either! Thank goodness I had the sense to do a trial run batch before taking them to my in-laws' house for Thanksgiving as I'd planned! I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravois Mills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great. Very sweet but very good. I used too much of the batter on the bottom. I could not cover the top but it turned out good anyway. Don't spend too much time trying to cover the top of the cake, it will be ok anyway. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I don't know if I did these the way they were written because when I mixed just the cake mix with the ingredients called for I decided there was no way the batter was going to cover the 9x13 pan called for. I decided that maybe the recipe meant I was to prepare the cake mix as directed on the pkg and then add the ingredients the recipe called for. I did this but then realized that it was more like cake batter when pouring over top instead of being able to pat the batter to cover the caramels. The end result was a soft chewy brownie style cake that got devoured so I didn't mind if I goofed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States