Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My Godmother gave me this recipe years ago and I have yet to meet someone who doesn't LOVE it. My fiance is a brownie fiend and he always requests these instead of cake for his birthday. The only thing we do different is we don't add pecans. There are very few times when I feel it is necessary to add nuts to a recipe, and this is not one of them, but if you're one of those people who loves pecans/walnuts/etc in their brownies you'll probably love this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Every year since the 1980's, my kids now adults with their own kids, beg me to fix these luscious bars at Christmas. They take a while...but definitely worth it. I do use semi-sweet chocolate chips instead and only 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I got this recipe from my husbands grandma before she died. So we called it Grandma Brownies! The difference (it does make a difference), is i used 3/4 cup margarine (oleo back in the day) not butter! And i use sweetened condensed milk (usually). When doing sweetened condensed milk it is 1/3 for 'kraft' caramels and 1/3 c with the cake mixture! And of course we freeze them! Don't tell anyone our secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I don't normally rate recipes low since I often "tweak" them so much, but I followed this one completely and it was a waste! My brownies turned out very greasy with an "undercooked-like" texture, even though I did not use a glass pan and I cooked them exactly as long as the recipe called for. The taste couldn't even save the texture, as it wasn't anything to write home about either! Thank goodness I had the sense to do a trial run batch before taking them to my in-laws' house for Thanksgiving as I'd planned! I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravois Mills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great. Very sweet but very good. I used too much of the batter on the bottom. I could not cover the top but it turned out good anyway. Don't spend too much time trying to cover the top of the cake, it will be ok anyway. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I don't know if I did these the way they were written because when I mixed just the cake mix with the ingredients called for I decided there was no way the batter was going to cover the 9x13 pan called for. I decided that maybe the recipe meant I was to prepare the cake mix as directed on the pkg and then add the ingredients the recipe called for. I did this but then realized that it was more like cake batter when pouring over top instead of being able to pat the batter to cover the caramels. The end result was a soft chewy brownie style cake that got devoured so I didn't mind if I goofed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I cut it down to an 8x8 pan and increased the cooking time. EVERYONE loves then as someone who can not bake these have yet to not impress!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
These are great!! I made them exactly like the instructions except I didn't completely melt the butter. Mine came out very sticky, but I think that was my fault. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardenas427

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These are fantastic! They are easy to prepare to taste. I use devils food or fudge cake mix for my chocoholic friends, and german or dark choclate for my parents. They are also great as cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I will never make this again!!! It doesn't taste anything like a brownie! It tasted like a dried up cake. My husband likes everything but he asked me not to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States