Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Ohhhh baby, phenomenal. I used sweetened condensed milk and a splash of regular 2% milk instead of evaporated milk and I saw no problem. My only complaint is that you have to leave the batter in the fridge for a really long time before they can actually be rolled without sticking to your hands. By the time I got them rolled they would be very melty and hard to place properly on top of the carmel. I was worried that they wouldnt turn out because of how haggard my top layer was working but they were fantastic! So my advice is try not to worry about how they look on the top just make sure you have a fair bit of dough left for the top. YAY will definately do again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
A little crispy on the outside and ooey, gooey goodness in the middle. I thought it was best the first night but it's just a dang good brownie. On the rich side, you could easily eat these til you are sick to your belly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These are awesome!! I DEFINITELY plan on making these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I have been making these for years and they are always a huge hit. I used to roll out the second half of the cake batter and try to put the whole thing on as a layer, but now I just take a spoonful at a time and flatten it out in my hand and put it together like a puzzle. Kraft now has a simpler way of doing the caramels, instead of unwrapping all of them, they have "caramel bits" and you could just pour them right into the sauce pan with the evap milk!! Can't wait, that will save a tedious step. Plus the more time you spend "unwrapping", the more likely you are to eat some that you are unwrapping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These brownies are amazing! Best I've ever eaten. EVER. and everyone RAVED at Christmas over them. I read a lot of reviews and they came out PERFECT the first time. Some things to note: #1 - I made sure to use a METAL pan. #2 - I used the baking caramels from Kraft so that I didn't have to unwrap them. There were less than 15 oz of caramels, so I just used slightly less milk and it turned out great and I had plenty to cover the brownies. #3 - I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and I felt that milk chocolate would have been way too sweet. #4 - When layering the caramel and chips on the 1st layer of brownie mix, the brownies will drop since they're not completely done. This worked fine. #5 - When laying out the 2nd brownie mix layer, I took tbsp size scoops and rolled them into balls and flattened them with my hands. I then laid those on top of the caramel. It didn't entirely cover the top, but it worked fine and spread out in the oven. Totally worth making. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The best brownies I've ever had. I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. I omitted the pecans, but only because of my brothers nut allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artbkward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was an awesome brownie! I used a milk chocolate cake mix because it was all I had, and I used holiday red and green white chocolate morsels. A tip for the caramels...They do make them specifically for melting, so you don't have to unwrap! Saves even more time. Will certainly make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Don't use glass! It cooks so much better if you use a pan. I also decreased the amount of chocolate chips by about 1/4 cup and mixed 1/2 cup in with the top layer of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
THESE ARE AWESOME…the only thing I do different is use walnuts layer them with the chocolate chips and caramel. Oh did I say THESE ARE AWESOME! Update ... I find that if you use 2 layers of wax paper with PAM sprayed on it and use a rolling pin to flatten out the top layer between the wax paper ... peel off one layer of the wax paper and lay the batter side down and then peel off the top layer. Seems to work well for me : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These were a HUGE hit at my daughter's birthday party! I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States