Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were just okay. I'm always leery of making recipes using a boxed cake mix because the end result usually tastes a little bit artificial to me, and this recipe is no exception. I love the idea of filling a brownie with chocolate chips and caramel, but it would have been a thousand times better with a "real", from-scratch brownie recipe rather than a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These tasted better than they looked. I made them for a aprty and ended up not taking them but wish that I had as I can not stop from eating them at home :) It seems like there's not enough batter to cover the bottom and top layers of the brownies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebeckf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were pretty good, but mine did not turn out like the picture and weren't 'to die for'. The brownie part was much lighter in color. I think they would be a lot better if I use a Devil's Food Cake mix instead of German Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a little extra work for a brownie, but according to the family it is worth it! I followed the recipe as written, but needed additional cooking time as it was not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Here is a great twist on this recipe... try using a yellow cake mix in place of the german chocolate cake mix- I'm telling you it's to die for!! Follow the recipe exactly the same, just use a yellow cake mix instead! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Have made this recipe since the early 80s, it is good with any chocolate cake mix if you don't have German Chocolate. It works great with most of a jar of caramel sauce in lieu of unwrapping all the caramels and making the sauce with evap. milk. It is worth the trouble to make the little "batter patties" to cover the caramel layer. It turns out great and it's also known as "Better than Sex" Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was asked by a co-worker to bake some caramel brownies for his birthday. Having never made them, I chose this recipe based on all of the rave reviews. All of my co-workers agree that "this was the best thing you ever baked!" That is quite a comment considering all of the baking I do! Can't wait to make them again! They were so rich and yummy! I loved that the caramel stayed gooey on the inside of the brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
These are the best brownies ever!!!!! I make them all the time and everyone loves them. I always use a non stick metal pan 9 x 13... and i still grease the pan... i use milk choc chips and only Kraft Caramels :-) I have found the brownies taste best if you add the butter when it is still hot! to the mix :-) i also bake them for 1 minute less for a chewy brownie!!! if i could give them ten stars I would :-) Thank so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Absolutely easy to prepare. My mother has been baking a similiar brownie many years, now my "CHOCOHOLIC" husband will get a taste of these great brownies.(also I used a chocolate cake mix). Gotta go time for dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These are the best! We have made this recipe for years! We always take them camping. We always like them best when they are refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States