Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Fantastic cheesecake!! I did have some trouble melting the chocolate, so the 2nd time I made this cheesecake, I just melted the chocolate in the microwave and stirred the 2 Tb. of cream in with with sour cream. I also combined the 1/4c.water, instant coffee and liqueur & put in the microwave til it was hot. By doing this, you avoid overmixing the batter and warms the batter slightly so the chocolate blends easier! Great recipe and I really enjoyed making it!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I have made this cheesecake at least a dozen times and my family and friends request it all the time!!! I make a few modifications: instead of instant coffee dissolved in hot water, I use 1/4 c. espresso for a little stronger coffee flavor. If you don't have an espresso machine, you can pick up an espresso at the coffee shop. I also use 1 1/2 times the crust recipe so that the crust is a bit thicker and I can press it halfway up the sides of my springform pan. I also buy a 16 oz. container of whipping cream and use the remainder (after using 2 Tbsp to melt the chocolate) to make the whipped cream, which means I double the powdered sugar and coffee liquer. I can't say enough good things about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a wonderful cheesecake that is easy to make. I make a cup of expresso instead of instant coffee and then I melt some dark chocolate in a small amount of whipping cream and pour it over the cooled cake. It hardens and forms a delicious crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was good the first day, but excellent the next, so I would recommend 24 hours for the cheesecake flavors to meld. I subsituted 4 t instant coffee, disolved in 1/2 a cup of whipping creaam for the coffee and coffee liquer the recipe calls for. I used chocolate sandwich cookies for the crust and would either use more cookies or less butter the next time, I think chocolate grahams would work better than the sandwich cookies though. I melted the chocolate in the microwave with no problems. All in all, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELLEE74
Home Town: Richfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Wonderful cheesecake! I made a few changes including doubling the crust portion, otherwise I thought it would be too thin and used 1/2 cup strong coffee (4 tsp instant coffee in 1/2 c. water) for the coffee and coffee liquer. I also used strong coffee in the cream portion and increased the amount of sugar (times 3) to make it sweeter. It got raves and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this as a piece of an insanely decadent birthday cake for my husband, so I divided the batter in half and baked it in an 8" spring form- the resulting cakes were maybe 2" thick, so it makes a nice, thick cheesecake. Because I made it thinner/smaller, it didn't have to bake as long (about 30 min). I used 1/2 cup of espresso instead of the liquor and instant coffee and I sweetened it using concentrated fruit juice. I also used low far cream cheese. The chocolate seized with the cream (I used it anyways) and it still smoothed out in the batter. The cheesecake turned out fantastic. The final product is really only as good as the chocolate and coffee you use though, so don't skimp and buy cheap stuff. I'd recommend melting the chocolate alone (without the cream) and then just add the cream alongside the sour cream. I will make this many times over, I'm sure. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I love this cheesecake, and so do everyone else who have tasted it! This was the first cheesecake of any kind that I ever tried to make, and it turned out PERFECTLY! Everyone thought I bought it from a bakery. I used espresso instead of strong coffee, and I baked it in a water bath. It took 3 hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I could only rate this a 4 because my chocolate kept siezing. I must have done something wrong with it, but I tried it three times. I melted 8 oz. semi sweet chocolate and 2 tbsp. whipping cream over a double boiler with boiling water and it started to melt ok, but then it would sieze before it was all melted. I tried also to melt it over simmering water instead and it siezed again. So, I just used melted chocolate and did not add all of the whipping cream and it was still ok. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I have made cheesecakes before and this one included is awesome. Here is some things I did to make this come out the way I wanted. I used Graham Crackers instead of chocolate cookies. I greased and floured the spring form pan as well as placed wax paper on the bottom. I also cooked the cake in a water bath to prevent cracking. I baked it for 50 minutes. I checked to see if it was done by tapping lightly on the side to see if it jiggled like jello. If it does then it is done. I left it in the oven with the door closed for another 50 minutes. I then removed cake and chilled overnight. To remove the cake from the pan I took a boning knife and placed it in HOT water and wiped it off. I gently cut around the edges slowly to loosen the cake from the pan. I repeated this method until I could get my knife all the way under the cake without disturbing the crust. Always dip the knife in the HOT water and wipe it off before make another attempt at loosening the cake. I also took that same knife and cut around the side of the pan to loosen the cake. Again, I dipped my knife in HOT water and wiped it off and then began the slow cuts. If your cake cracks then take a frosting knife, dip in HOT water, wipe it off and smooth over the cracks no one will know, PROMISE. You can sprinkle the ground up crust mixture over the top to change it up a bit. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The cake was indeed sinful but was way too soft. Needed to be firmer and I chilled for 24 hours before eating. Almost impossible to serve, just collasped. Delicious though! I used oreo cookies and 3Tbsp of butter for the crust. I also had trouble with the crust sticking to the sides even though I buttered it. Thank God for the whipped cream to fix the flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States