Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
So good. Delicious and rich. Also very easy. I followed people's tips about mixing whipping cream with sour cream. Tried to keep in oven for 45min after cooking to avoid cracking, but it still cracked. But was ok - just filled with whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have made this about a dozen times...I am a novice baker and have never had an issue with it...other than it does need to cook about 5 to 10 minutes longer. In the past, I have forgot the coffee and water, I have forgot the coffee brandy and have over mixed etc. It still comes out great. I also make a chocolate graham crust instead. For those of you who have an issue with melting the chocolate, the recipe says to melt it over boiling water. To melt the chocolate over water, boil the water then turn it down low. The water should not touch the top pot/bowl nor bubble out. (I use a Pyrex dish over a pot) Break the chocolate into tiny pieces, put it into the bowl, put it on the simmer pot, with a whisk keep moving/stirring it and add the cream just as it starts to soften. Once melted, lift out the bowl (have a towel handy to quickly wipe the moisture off the bowl exterior, put it into your batter and mix in. DO this quickly, then immediately add the 1/4 water with instant coffee already mixed into it to the batter...make sure the instant coffee mixture is HOT... it will finish melting any tiny bits of chocolate that did not totally melt. You can work on perfecting your cheesecake making if you are going after presentation..but this recipe is fantastic no matter what....and if you mess up...no ONE will know the difference! The taste hides newbie baking! DO NOT BE AFRAID!!!! Even with my mess-ups, this is often requested, also been offered $$ to make it for others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Both of my children request this for the birthday cake every year. Very rich. Hope you like chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
DOUBLE THE CRUST- I've made this cake 3 times. Once as written & twice with my low-cal version. Great reviews each time. I used a Splenda blend for all of the sugar to cut the sugar cals in 1/2. I used 2 pkgs Neufchatel cream cheese and 1 fat free pkg. I used fat free 1/2&1/2 inplace of the heavy cream in melting the choc. I used reduced fat sourcream. For the cup of heavy cream I used 2/3 cup heavy cream with 1/3 cup fat free 1/2&1/2. Then I baked it for 50 min. in a water bath before shutting down the oven. This seriously reduced the calorie content without sacrificing taste. It's also true if you let it chill over night before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
the crust needs to be doubled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Made this for my cousin's hubby's birthday and it was better than I expected. Almost followed the recipe as is...but had to make slight revisions. Considering the amount of cheesecake being used, i actually doubled the crust (used chocolate graham crackers instead). Also, I don't know why other reviewers had a problem with the chocolate seizing with the whipping cream as I did not have a problem at all. I used eight-1oz baker's semi-sweet chocolate (the ones that are in individual 1oz packages. i added the whipping cream (double the amount that's in the recipe) before melting it in the double broiler. I continuously stirred fairly fast and it just smooths out. As for the whipping cream for decorating the cake, i added the powdered sugar as directed, but also added coffee liqueur (1:1 ratio with the sugar) and food coloring. Everyone loved it. Decadent and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
First time cheesecake maker and the recipe was easy to follow and the result delicious. I had read a number of other reviews that modified the original recipe. Doubling the cookie crumbs is an absolute must. I also used dark chocolate morsels. I microwaved the chocolate to melt it and it definitely broke. Not wanting to toss it and start again, I added the sour cream and used a hand mixer. It came back wonderfully. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a staff Christmas party and everyone raved about it. Making it was a bit stressful because: 1) the melted chocolate formed soft lumps as soon as I poured it into the batter - I saw this happened to another reviewer. 2) after cooling, I had about 2 tbsp of congealed butter that had leaked through the springform pan from the crust. I don't know why. I hand-squeezed out the chocolate lumps (it hadn't seized). As per other reviewers, I upped the crust 1.5 times (good idea), baked it at 325 for 1 hour (only 1 small crack), used 1/2 c espresso instead of the liqueur/coffee and microwaved the chocolate, added the cream after and let it cool a few minutes. Would I make this again? Definitely. It took me about 3 hours from start to finish! I served it with raspberries and chocolate curls on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is the first cheesecake I've ever tried to make. Turned out perfect! Didn't make the toppings and was still great. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States