Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made a "tester" cheesecake before I make one for an event. Altered the recipe a bit by using coffee flavoring instead of vanilla extract, doubled the instant coffee mixture instead of using liqueur, used vanilla cookie wafers and some instant coffee granules (no cinnamon) for crust (doubled the crust after reading another review)topped with a poured dark chocolate ganache and melted white chocolate design for fun; this was gone in a hurry, devoured by men who aren't necessarily black coffee drinkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Unfortunately, I am one of the few in the minority with this recipe. Although the cheesecake tasted good, after 45 minutes in the oven, it still jiggled - a lot - but I followed the directions, turned off the heat, and left the oven door open. It did firm up somewhat in the fridge but was very mushy. I was never able to get it off the bottom of the springform pan and thus just served it on the pan. Could not get a good "slice," of course. Oh, and during baking, oil from the butter and cream cheese oozed all over the bottom of my oven and smoked up the entire house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarmints
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this as a birthday cake for my boyfriend and it was lovely. I used dark chocolate and I find that gives it the right amount of sweetness. I suggest doubling the crust as the crust to cheese ratio was kind of unbalanced - there was very little crust compared to the rest of the batter. Also, make sure you grease the pan and bottom to ensure that the crust comes out nicely. I suggest lining the pan with parchment paper on the bottom and on the sides to get a beautiful shape. Other tips: MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS AT ROOM TEMPERATURE! This is critical for a smooth and lump-free batter. Also, I baked it in a water bath for 45 minutes and left the cake in the oven with it turned off. No cracks whatsoever and the whole cake was very smooth. I think the sour cream really helped with the texture. I also used espresso instead of instant coffee powder which gives it a subtle coffee flavour. I topped it with some dark chocolate shavings and raspberries and it was just so yummy and decadent. I really recommend this recipe for parties or just if you want to impress people. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmints

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made this as written. I liked it well enough (not blown away) but my family did not care for it much. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out fabulous! It was my second time making cheesecake. I did double the recipe for the crust though. I also used the Via instant coffee from Starbucks in Italian Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This took a long time to prepare and to cook. Then again, all cheesecakes take a long time to prepare and cook. This one is definitely worth it. My second cheesecake ever and this was incredible. The resulting cheesecake is restaurant quality, fine restaurant quality. I could easily see this being served at $8 a slice and the customers thinking it was a great value. I love it when a great recipe makes an average cook look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Gruner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Amazing but rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was my first time making cheesecake and this was the perfect recipe!! I couldn't believe that I made something so delicious! (Obviously, if you don't like the taste of coffee, this is NOT for you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hannah
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have been using this recipe for over four years and my family requests it all the time. I use Neufchatel cheese and the last time I made it I even substituted in Stevia for the sugar. I removed the cinnamon and sugar from the crust and just do a chocolate animal or graham cracker/butter crust. Blending the cookies in a blender or food processor makes for a nice fine crumb! Remember not to overbake this cheesecake; mine cracked every single time for years and the most recent time I made it I finally "under baked" it slightly - no cracks and my family LOVED the creamy texture. I covered it with whipping cream (made with cocoa, instant coffee, and coffee liqueur) and a dusting of cocoa powder and it was the biggest hit yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing. All my family loved it. It takes some time but for my first Cheesecake ever I think it was well worth it. If you are less of a coffee person and more of a chocolate person I added cocoa, sugar, and vanilla to the whip cream instead of the coffee liqueur and everyone loved it. It adds some sweet to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States