Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I'm a chocolate fan, but this cheesecake was a tad too rich for even me! Could have possible used more cooking time, as the center didn't firm as much as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
YUM, YUM, YUM!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and am still enjoying it a great deal! It's SO creamy! I used crushed oreo cookies for the bottom and the only thing I might change next time is I might bake the crust for 10 or so minutes before filling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this cheesecake in mini form using one chocolate wafer from an Oreo cookie as the bottom crust. There was a strong tang from the sour cream that I didn't care for. The chocolate wasn't as pronounced as I had hoped it would be. I skipped the whipped cream & chocolate leaves as garnish. A few members of my family really enjoyed the cheesecake though. I'll attempt the recipe again using a darker chocolate option & a different cheesecake base without sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving last year; no leftovers! I kinda forgot about it until today- my mother requested that I make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is fabulous - one of my absolute, all-time, favorite desserts. I added a touch more instant coffee and used Oreo cookies for the crust. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Ok, I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out delicious. I do have a few tips that might help some people. Chocolate tip: I use baking squares and I put the squares in a ceramic bowl and set it near the back of the stovetop, where it gets warm while the oven is heating for the crust. This starts melting the chocolate. When time to add chocolate I pour the whipped cream over the chocolate, microwave for 30-40 seconds, remove, whisk until smooth and add to batter. If the chocolate still appears lumpy or grainy after whisking, I will microwave it for a few more seconds (20-30). I don't own a double boiler and always use this method for melting chocolate. If you don't pre-melt it, or forget, microwaving for a little longer works too, 60-90 seconds. Just be sure to add the whipping cream before putting in microwave. Basic tip: I always set out the eggs and cream cheese for a while or nuke the cream cheese before mixing so it is room temp. This will prevent the chocolate from hardening in the batter. Fluffy version: If you like a fluffier cheesecake, put egg whites into a separate bowl and add yolks when indicated in the recipe, then after everything else is added, whip the egg whites until they start to form peaks and gently fold them into the batter, pour into pan and bake as normal. I sometimes even add an extra egg white when making this version. I hope this helps people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dionosaur
Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
this recipe was fabulous! made for thanksgiving with my family and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I thought the coffee taste was a bit strong at first, but I'm sure for those that love coffee, this would be amazing. Everyone who tried it loved it! I personally didn't like it the day after I baked it, but it grew on me after a few days. It has a smooth texture, and a very rich, grown up taste! I used crushed chocolate graham crackers and doubled the crust in a 10 inch springfrom pan, and it was perfect. After you spread the crust mixture at the bottom of the pan, it will be a lot easier to flatten and even out the crust by placing a piece of plastic wrap over the mixture, and pressing firmly using the palm of your hand to shape it. I didn't make the whipped cream, as I think the cheesecake by itself was rich enough. Also, I made my own coffee liqueur using instant Arabica bean coffee, sugar, water, vodka and vanilla. If you type "homemade Kahlua" in a search engine, you will be able to find it easily. It tastes great, and I will probably be using it again soon to make Tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this cheesecake for a birthday party and have had MANY MANY requests for it since. I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made my own coffee liquer using a recipe from this site - and I thought the cheesecake turned out good. It actually tasted a lot like the cappuccino bon-bons my Mom used to make. My only sore spot was the crust - I used oreo cookie crumbs because the grocery store didn't sell chocolate graham crackers - and the crust was rock hard and tasted slightly burnt. I think if I'd had and used chocolate graham crackers it would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States