Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Moist! excellent flavor. Used the white cake frosting to go with it. frosting didnt have much flavor but that was okay for this sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This has been the best dessert I have made thus far. Everyone I make it for LOVES it!! Co-workers who usually don't say much came and personally told me how much they liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Design Laure'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My whole family absolutly loves this recipie. I put about half of the chocolate and nuts into the frosting and put 1 and 1/2 tubs of cool whip anstead of just the one. I found that the fluffyness of the frosting offset the denceness of the cake. ABSOLUTLY wonderfull recipie. so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for the first time today, and it was delicious! I only used two layers because I didn't have three cake pans that were the same size. My food processor wouldn't chop up the chocolate so I did it with a knife, and I got a workout! I made my own whipped cream instead of buying Cool Whip. I made some chocolate curls and my daughter put them on the top of the cake..gave it a nice elegant look. I will definitely make this again! My oldest (8 years old) loves dessert as much as I do, and she ate a big piece and wanted more. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Amazing! I doubled the frosting recipe because I didn't think it was enough and I only had a little left over. You definitely have to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiSanders79
Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was delicious! The cake had a rich flavor that was perfect with the light flavor of the icing. I shaved chocolate on the top & made a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stang98lx
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I have made this exact recipe, but my inner tweaker thinks the cake is best when you toast the pecans first and instead of run of the mill chocolate, use one 4 oz Ghirardelli milk chocolate baking bar and one 4 oz Ghirardelli 60% cacao baking bar. I chop them finely in the food processor prior to folding the chocolate it. This recipe also works great with "Black Magic Cake" if you don't want to use cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I am a VERY inexperienced cook so when I decided to make my own birthday cake for my 25th the pressure was on! I followed this recipe almost exactly. Like other reviewers, I used Heath bars and omitted the nuts. I also used only two layers- just baked them longer. It was a hit! All the good reviews are true. This cake is SO easy to make. My boyfriend's mother is an excellent cook who does everything from scratch including cakes so I've always wondered if I could measure up- well not only did he tell me this was the best cake he had ever had, but he asked me to make the same one for his next birthday! You really can't go wrong with this recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I've been following this recipe for yearrrs! I recently substituted the Devils Food Cake mix for Red Velvet per my boyfriend's request. He made me make two for his birthday- one for him and one for everyone else! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I bake a lot but this definitely won the prize for my family and friends! I made some changes that are not necessary but due to the rave reviews (and how yummy it was), I will do them next time. First, I used 3 -9" pans and I only baked the cakes for 20 minutes. They were slightly under baked which made the cake denser. I made two batches of frosting: the first I used as a filling using only 8oz cool whip and 2 chopped up Skor bars, kept other ingredients the same, eliminating the pecans. To frost the whole outside of the cake, I followed the recipe, but did not add any nuts or Skor bar. I topped the cake with crushed up oreos. I am making cupcakes this weekend using the extra frosting left over. This was absolutely one of the best cakes I have ever made and I have made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States