Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made cupcakes instead of a cake! I followed the recipe for the cake exactly as writen. They came out very moist and delicious. For the icing I used a little bit less sugar than called for and a little more cool whip to make it a tad creamier. I made these for Thanksgiving so to please everybody I used 3 different candies; Butterfinger, Kit Kat, and Heath. The Kit Kat was the family favorite, but the colors of the Butterfinger were perfect for really cute fall cupcakes! I didn't feel the need to freeze the candy. I used my Pampered Chef chopper to chop it all and it worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe. I don't use the white sugar in the icing because it doesn't need it. The icing seems like mixing cement, but it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is the best cake recipe ever! Even my husband who doesn't like chocolate cake likes this one! I use the base recipe for every cake now (the main cake ingredients with the boxed cake mix and pudding mix). I switch it up with different flavors - it works for any flavor! I use the icing recipe (minus the candy bar and nuts) for every cake! It's the best icing for those who don't like really sweet icing. This cake & icing recipe has become my signature cake recipe! EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is the most moist cake I have ever made! Great icing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This cake is WONDERFUL! I have been requested to make it a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Thanks very much for this recipe. I made it yesterday for my Parents. They Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used this recipe to make a SKOR cake for my husband, used a whipped cream frosting instead of the cream cheese, was well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Try peanut butter cups in frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe! I screwed it up to and it still turned out great. I realized too late that I used 2 9" round cake pans instead of 3 8". I just baked it about 10 minutes longer. The cake was so moist and good. ANd the frosting was to die for! I used Snickers bars cut up really fine and mixed it in the frosting. Then on top after it was all frosted I put shaved Hershey bars. I made the cake the day before the party and refridged it that whole night cause I wasn't sure if the frosting would get runny sitting out(and it had cream cheese) It was perfect! Big cake too! It easily serves about 15 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking wifey
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Elegant and delicious! I took the advice of another reviewer and used crunched up oreos instead of nuts and chocolate bars. I also just sprinled the broken pieces on top of each layer of icing and on top of the cake (instead of mixing it in the frosting). I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States