Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I combined this recipe with the chocolate Praline cake....OH MY DEAR...it was to die for...Thank you JJOHN32 and NOULLETTE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I make this for a family cookout. It was great. Everyone loved it. I used hersheys special dark chocolate bars and it was perfect. You would think that this cake would be very rich, or too sweet but it is not. It is perfect in my opinion. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
WOW! this is good cake. 10 times better the day after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have never had a cake that was so good, i will make this for a party next time, can't wait to get the results of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
delicious. made as a birthday cake 3 people ended up eating it all in a few days and e never do that. just don't crush the candy up to much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
AMAZING! Although I do not have a huge sweet tooth, my husband does and fell in love with this cake immediately. I used butterfinger and mini peanut butter cups. Per the suggestion I froze the candy and broke them up with a hammer in a bag. I honestly have no idea how much candy was in that frosting but I am pretty positive it was a lot more than what the recipe called for! Additionally, I did use fat free whipped topping and fat free cream cheese and you could not even tell the difference. (not that it really matters considering the other ingredients haha) Thank you so much for this recipe--I will continue to make this and am excited to try the endless other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great cake and awesome icing, loved it will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake is always a smash! people love it, and a gang load always ask for the recipe. super moist and delicious. and the icing is my absolute favorite! There's no point in making any other cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This came out great. I followed some suggestions, I made it for my boyfriends birthday, so I used his favorite candy, peanut butter cups. I did it in 3 layers, it was moist and looked so impressive toped with cut up cups. I made a ring around the edge with cups cut in half, top down and fillet style, then added the left over pieces to the center. I used a small bad of cups. And the best part, he didn't believe it was from a cake mix until I showed him the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made cupcakes instead of a cake! I followed the recipe for the cake exactly as writen. They came out very moist and delicious. For the icing I used a little bit less sugar than called for and a little more cool whip to make it a tad creamier. I made these for Thanksgiving so to please everybody I used 3 different candies; Butterfinger, Kit Kat, and Heath. The Kit Kat was the family favorite, but the colors of the Butterfinger were perfect for really cute fall cupcakes! I didn't feel the need to freeze the candy. I used my Pampered Chef chopper to chop it all and it worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States