Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this for a friends B day and he said it was one of the best cakes he's ever eaten. I didn't get to try it, but I plan on making again for my husband and I to eat :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is just wonderful. The cake is so moist and delicious -- I made this in a 9X13 and in my oven, which runs a little cool, it took about an hour. The cake is very moist and flavorful! I made a simple syrup using coffee instead of water and a splash of vanilla and brushed it over the cake to keep it moist overnight. With the frosting, I whipped two cups of heavy cream with about 3/4 cup of sugar (I added 4 t of plain gelatin melted in 8 T water after whipping the cream and sugar to medium peaks to add stability) and folded that into the cream cheese mix. I processed Butterfingers and Crunch bars and folded those in, and almonds instead of pecans. The frosting was stiff enough to pipe, but it spread beautifully. The cake looks gorgeous and tastes even better, I'm sure the birthday girl will be thrilled. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I combined this recipe with the chocolate Praline cake....OH MY DEAR...it was to die for...Thank you JJOHN32 and NOULLETTE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I make this for a family cookout. It was great. Everyone loved it. I used hersheys special dark chocolate bars and it was perfect. You would think that this cake would be very rich, or too sweet but it is not. It is perfect in my opinion. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
WOW! this is good cake. 10 times better the day after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have never had a cake that was so good, i will make this for a party next time, can't wait to get the results of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
delicious. made as a birthday cake 3 people ended up eating it all in a few days and e never do that. just don't crush the candy up to much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
AMAZING! Although I do not have a huge sweet tooth, my husband does and fell in love with this cake immediately. I used butterfinger and mini peanut butter cups. Per the suggestion I froze the candy and broke them up with a hammer in a bag. I honestly have no idea how much candy was in that frosting but I am pretty positive it was a lot more than what the recipe called for! Additionally, I did use fat free whipped topping and fat free cream cheese and you could not even tell the difference. (not that it really matters considering the other ingredients haha) Thank you so much for this recipe--I will continue to make this and am excited to try the endless other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great cake and awesome icing, loved it will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake is always a smash! people love it, and a gang load always ask for the recipe. super moist and delicious. and the icing is my absolute favorite! There's no point in making any other cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States