Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Substituted 'Dark Chocolate Cake 1' for boxed recipe but liked the frosting. Didn't add regular sugar, only conf. > it was plenty sweet. Will try again with boxed mix for a quicker dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The cake is very soft and fluffy, not dense. I sprayed 3 8" pans with vegetable oil spray but forgot to flour. Still came out perfect. Frosting is incredibly easy to spread. I really don't like cream cheese frosting but this one was good. Will make again but next time for a gathering. A little to much cake for just a regular night at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I have been making this cake for a few years. My sons all want it for their birthday cake. I have made it in a 13x9 baking pan. After it cools I pour hot fudge on top. Let it cool. Crumble oreos on top of the fudge. I top that with vanilla ice cream. (If you take a sharp knife you can cut throught the ice cream container and get uniform slices.) I then top the ice cream with the candy bar frosting. Freeze and serve. It is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFRECKLEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Extremely moist cake with wonderful creamy icing! I only made minor changes...I omitted the pecans, added 1/4 tsp. of almond extract to the frosting and put the candy bars all on top instead of mixing it in the frosting. (Made it easier to decorate). I did use three 9" pans and found this to be the perfect size. I've made this twice, once with Kit Kats and another time with chocolate toffee bits. The only thing is the candy doesn't keep its crunch after you put it in the fridge a while. Next time I'll use peanut butter cups for this reason. Got rave reviews from my Bunko group and a family get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
The cake is good. The frosting taste like marshmellow creme. I don't llike marshmellow creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I was incredibly reluctant to make this cake. Almost everything about it goes against all of my kitchen rules from the boxed mix to the frozen whipped topping, but I was very short on time & needed a birthday cake FAST. I used Butterfinger bars & crushed up some additional ones to put up the sides of the cake. It looked pro bakery quality. I was nervous to hear peoples reactions because I loathe box mixes but everyone loved it. I even have to admit the cake was incredibly moist & whatever box taste was there got covered up by the delicious frosting (: I only had 8" pans & it worked marvelously. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
OH MY !!! This is a must try recipe, we loved it. I like that it uses a cake mix so it's homemade with it's other ingredients yet not. Really easy to make. I used a 9x13 cake pan rather than round cakes and stacking them. Less fuss that way by leaving the cake in the pan to serve. (and to take to other places to serve) Which worked out perfectly. Instead of plain chocolate bars I bought one of those really BIG Symphony bars and chopped that up to put on top. That added an extra touch of flavor. It's pretty, easy to make and good, plus it's chocolate. What more can you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
The best cake I have ever eaten. I use butterfingers but not too many to overpower the great frosting and moist cake but just enough to give it a good flavor. My 11 year old son asked for this cake once every couple of weeks and my husband asks for it more than that. It keeps very well wrapped tightly in the fridge for several days and is as moist on day 4 as it was on day 1. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this for a friends B day and he said it was one of the best cakes he's ever eaten. I didn't get to try it, but I plan on making again for my husband and I to eat :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbinsgirl01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is just wonderful. The cake is so moist and delicious -- I made this in a 9X13 and in my oven, which runs a little cool, it took about an hour. The cake is very moist and flavorful! I made a simple syrup using coffee instead of water and a splash of vanilla and brushed it over the cake to keep it moist overnight. With the frosting, I whipped two cups of heavy cream with about 3/4 cup of sugar (I added 4 t of plain gelatin melted in 8 T water after whipping the cream and sugar to medium peaks to add stability) and folded that into the cream cheese mix. I processed Butterfingers and Crunch bars and folded those in, and almonds instead of pecans. The frosting was stiff enough to pipe, but it spread beautifully. The cake looks gorgeous and tastes even better, I'm sure the birthday girl will be thrilled. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States