Chocolate Cakes with Liquid Centers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just had these wonderful cakes for Thanksgiving dinner dessert. Butterd three six-ounce pyrex bowls and dusted them with cocoa powder. Used 1/2 cup of Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chips. Melted them with butter in the microwave on low for about one minute with no difficulties. Beat the eggs, yolks and sugar for about three minutes till slightly thick. Refrigerated finished batter till we started dinner. Baked at 450 degrees for 12 minutes. Turned cups over on serving plates and waited about 15 seconds. DIVINE!!! Try this recipe, you will not be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peglou
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
these were great.. I have to use brown sugar in most baked goods because the white sugar makes me itch. I made these with dark brown sugar and nestle choc chips. I cut everything in half for two people. I baked them in convection oven for 10 minutes on 425.. Then I served them with whip cream. What a great little treat for after dinner.Just the right amount of sweetness. I did run a butter knife down the sides of the baking dish before dumping onto the plate. This prevented any sticking problems I might have. very easy and super tasty. The brown sugar added a slight caramel taste to the end product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These are crowd pleasers. If you dont eat them right away put the cakes in the microwave for 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this dessert! I used less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
it was so good with an glass of ice cold milk .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I also halved the recipe-turned out great! I melted the butter and Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate in the microwave. I didn't want to break out the double boiler for such a small amount. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla to the eggs and sugar, and another 1/2 tsp of flour, as per recommendations. I sprayed my 8 oz ramekins (not sure how this would work well with 4oz ones-my batter filled the 8oz ones nearly 2/3 full,) liberally with cooking spray and baked them for 11 minutes. They unmolded beautifully and had delectably liquidy centers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
So easy and delicious, I make these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Wonderful! I added a few tablespoons of Port and used dark chocolate. I followed others' suggestions to cook longer, but only needed 7 minutes, as at 8 they were over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This cake is REALLY good. REALLY. but these few tips, i think, will make the recipe easier and more foolproof. 1) the quality of your chocolate really matters. I used Ghirardelli 60% chocolate chips. FYI, 6 oz of choc chips is 1 cup. 2) don't skip the egg yolks. For some reason, using whole eggs isn't as good. Hmmmmm... 3) there's really no need to flour the ramekins. if you "butter" them well, the cakes won't stick. 4) check the oven often. You don't want to undercook (too much "liquid") OR overcook (no "liquid"). I ended up keeping them in there for 11 minutes. 5) tap the ramekins to kill all air bubbles before putting them in the oven. 6) putting all of the ramekins on a cookie pan makes it easier to put them in/ take them out of the oven. 7) let the cakes cool for a few minutes before unmolding them. This will prevent the liquid center from coming out when you flip the cakes onto a plate. The middle should still be liquid though. I hope these tips make life easier for you :) this recipe really is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made it exactly as written. It's the #1 requested dessert at our house! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rally Crew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mystic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States