Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This cake is awesome! I'm not a professional baker, but I bake on the side and I use this recipe for a base of a number of chocolate cake orders. I NEVER use the coffee in this recipe as I like the classic moist Devil's food cake taste. I just add hot water. The photo I submitted is actually this recipe made low sugar using the Splenda brand for baking called "Splenda Sugar", it is a blend of Splenda and sugar and is heavy like sugar. I'm a diabetic and it made for a FABULOUS 30th birthday cake for me--everyone swore up and down I bought it. But I used my own low sugar chocolate frosting recipe and paired with this cake was...Devil's food cake HEAVEN! I absolutely recommend this recipe! I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I tried this cuz I wanted to use up some leftover brewed coffee (thanks allrecipes for your ingredient search section). Also I happened to have all the ingredients this recipe calls for. I goofed following the directions since I was trying to hurry. I put the sugar in with the flour, etc. and I did not sift but stirred with a wire whisk. I'm glad it still came out good. Also in my oven it only needed to bake 30 min. Even then it looked a little dry, but it was very light, not at all dry on the inside. It cut beautifully. On my 1st bite of the warm cake, I thought it might need to be sweeter but I changed my mind as I finished eating it, after all I was enjoying it without icing. I will make this again since it was good, easy and forgiving of my mistakes. Also I'm eager to try it with semi-sweet chocolate chips added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This cake was really great. I used a bavarian cream filling and chocolate butter frosting. It was a great hit at my family function. I will be making this cake for years to come. Thank you, Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wow. My milk/nut allergy 7 year old was thrilled to be able to eat such a delicious, moist cake for his birthday party. Parents & kids all enjoyed it and no one missed the dairy!! I am making another one for my son's 100 day celebration in school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My family really enjoyed this desert! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for someone who has a milk allergy in the family and it was really good! Moist and I didn't miss the milk! I halved this recipe and made two 9 inch cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this cake to go with our dinner tonight. I made a bundt cake and sheet cake. I added a cream cheese & milk chocolate chip filling to both cakes. As soon as the cakes came out of the oven, I topped them with a glaze made of real butter, pure vanilla, sugar & evaporated milk. I then topped the bundt cake with a fresh blueberry sauce (off this site). Made a beautiful cake and all my guests raved. This is a wonderful recipe, especially when you have several to feed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Just like my Grand-Ma Anne's "camp cake". Made it in an 11x16 dark[enamelware] pan. 45 min. bake time > perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was thrilled to see this recipe as I had lost the one my mother gave to me. She was baking this cake 60 years ago and so much better than other chocolate cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I've been looking for a milk-free chocolate cake recipe (my boyfriend is lactose intolerant) and I'm so glad I tried this one! The recipe is really easy and the cake is moist, fluffy, and very chocolaty. I halved the recipe for a trial batch and it made 18 cupcakes. I cooked them for about 18-20 minutes and they are delicious. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States