Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Very good and moist chocolate cake. Made for a kid's party and they gobbled it up. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This cake was really great. I used a bavarian cream filling and chocolate butter frosting. It was a great hit at my family function. I will be making this cake for years to come. Thank you, Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I tried this cuz I wanted to use up some leftover brewed coffee (thanks allrecipes for your ingredient search section). Also I happened to have all the ingredients this recipe calls for. I goofed following the directions since I was trying to hurry. I put the sugar in with the flour, etc. and I did not sift but stirred with a wire whisk. I'm glad it still came out good. Also in my oven it only needed to bake 30 min. Even then it looked a little dry, but it was very light, not at all dry on the inside. It cut beautifully. On my 1st bite of the warm cake, I thought it might need to be sweeter but I changed my mind as I finished eating it, after all I was enjoying it without icing. I will make this again since it was good, easy and forgiving of my mistakes. Also I'm eager to try it with semi-sweet chocolate chips added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wow. My milk/nut allergy 7 year old was thrilled to be able to eat such a delicious, moist cake for his birthday party. Parents & kids all enjoyed it and no one missed the dairy!! I am making another one for my son's 100 day celebration in school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I cut these ingredents half because i only needed one cake. will make this my standard birthday cake recipe. Excellant topped with choc. icing, 2 bite brownies(cut in half), pecans and carmel syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I found it a little bland, quite frankly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
this was ok, but not as chocolatey as i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I halved the recipe, only wanting one layer. It'd be great if you had a really severely lactose intolerant kid, but other than that... well, we ate it about 4 hours after I'd baked it, and it tasted as though it had been sitting on the counter for a couple of days. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My family really enjoyed this desert! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for someone who has a milk allergy in the family and it was really good! Moist and I didn't miss the milk! I halved this recipe and made two 9 inch cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States