Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I've been looking for a milk-free chocolate cake recipe (my boyfriend is lactose intolerant) and I'm so glad I tried this one! The recipe is really easy and the cake is moist, fluffy, and very chocolaty. I halved the recipe for a trial batch and it made 18 cupcakes. I cooked them for about 18-20 minutes and they are delicious. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was thrilled to see this recipe as I had lost the one my mother gave to me. She was baking this cake 60 years ago and so much better than other chocolate cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Just like my Grand-Ma Anne's "camp cake". Made it in an 11x16 dark[enamelware] pan. 45 min. bake time > perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this cake to go with our dinner tonight. I made a bundt cake and sheet cake. I added a cream cheese & milk chocolate chip filling to both cakes. As soon as the cakes came out of the oven, I topped them with a glaze made of real butter, pure vanilla, sugar & evaporated milk. I then topped the bundt cake with a fresh blueberry sauce (off this site). Made a beautiful cake and all my guests raved. This is a wonderful recipe, especially when you have several to feed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This cake is awesome! I'm not a professional baker, but I bake on the side and I use this recipe for a base of a number of chocolate cake orders. I NEVER use the coffee in this recipe as I like the classic moist Devil's food cake taste. I just add hot water. The photo I submitted is actually this recipe made low sugar using the Splenda brand for baking called "Splenda Sugar", it is a blend of Splenda and sugar and is heavy like sugar. I'm a diabetic and it made for a FABULOUS 30th birthday cake for me--everyone swore up and down I bought it. But I used my own low sugar chocolate frosting recipe and paired with this cake was...Devil's food cake HEAVEN! I absolutely recommend this recipe! I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for someone who has a milk allergy in the family and it was really good! Moist and I didn't miss the milk! I halved this recipe and made two 9 inch cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My family really enjoyed this desert! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I halved the recipe, only wanting one layer. It'd be great if you had a really severely lactose intolerant kid, but other than that... well, we ate it about 4 hours after I'd baked it, and it tasted as though it had been sitting on the counter for a couple of days. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
this was ok, but not as chocolatey as i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I found it a little bland, quite frankly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States