Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mewest1
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe a little on the dry side. I think I'll add a packet of chocolate instant pudding next time to add a some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Halved the recipe and it made about 16 cupcakes in 20 minutes. Very easy and very delicious light and fluffy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris in Seattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe to try with a 9 year old, she was able to conquer all the steps and it was moist and gone in one night! Beats any box cake too! I even had all the ingredients in the cupboard! Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Just finished making Chocolate Cake V and it is delightful! I halved the recipe and I'd suggest a cooking time of approximately 35 minutes if you do this. I also love how you add coffee to the cocoa in this recipe. Never heard of that before with chocolate cake, brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! The coffee adds a whole new layer of flavor! It's rich and delicious and tastes even better with some chocolate chips thrown in (1/4 cup) ...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to mix up and the flavor is good. However, while I wouldn't go so far as to say the cake is dry, it isn't as moist a chocolate cake as it could or should be. I used a half recipe, for cupcakes, and was very careful with the baking time so as not to overbake. A good blob of "White Cake Frosting II" helped mitigate the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake took forever to cook. When I thought it was done it wasn't. It was very dense and dark in color. Not going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good and so easy! It's not too sweet and it is extremely moist. I was worried that it would dry out based on another review, but it was even more moist today than right after I made it yesterday. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
So yummy! I used this recipe for my son's 2 yr. birthday party. I followed the directions as is except for the coffee and used hot water instead. I got so many compliments on it. I will have to try it with the coffee when I'm not making it for a big crowd. Will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Amazing!!! I made this cake yesterday. I followed the recipe, but instead of flouring my 9x13 pan, i used sugar!! The cake came right up off of the pan. Also it added a sweetness to the edges! The kind that melts in your mouth!! I use sugar instead of flour for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States