Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe to try with a 9 year old, she was able to conquer all the steps and it was moist and gone in one night! Beats any box cake too! I even had all the ingredients in the cupboard! Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Just finished making Chocolate Cake V and it is delightful! I halved the recipe and I'd suggest a cooking time of approximately 35 minutes if you do this. I also love how you add coffee to the cocoa in this recipe. Never heard of that before with chocolate cake, brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! The coffee adds a whole new layer of flavor! It's rich and delicious and tastes even better with some chocolate chips thrown in (1/4 cup) ...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to mix up and the flavor is good. However, while I wouldn't go so far as to say the cake is dry, it isn't as moist a chocolate cake as it could or should be. I used a half recipe, for cupcakes, and was very careful with the baking time so as not to overbake. A good blob of "White Cake Frosting II" helped mitigate the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake took forever to cook. When I thought it was done it wasn't. It was very dense and dark in color. Not going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good and so easy! It's not too sweet and it is extremely moist. I was worried that it would dry out based on another review, but it was even more moist today than right after I made it yesterday. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
So yummy! I used this recipe for my son's 2 yr. birthday party. I followed the directions as is except for the coffee and used hot water instead. I got so many compliments on it. I will have to try it with the coffee when I'm not making it for a big crowd. Will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Amazing!!! I made this cake yesterday. I followed the recipe, but instead of flouring my 9x13 pan, i used sugar!! The cake came right up off of the pan. Also it added a sweetness to the edges! The kind that melts in your mouth!! I use sugar instead of flour for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because it wasn't as rich or fudge as I like chocolate cake to be. That being said, it was very easy to make and I loved the addition of the coffee. I put it in a tube pan and had to increase the cooking time (I believe by 20 minutes), and topped it with Chocolate Pecan Praline Sauce from another site, which soaked in and made it so fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States