Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews before I made this cake....added extra chocolate as many reccomended. I found the cake still not chocolate enough and didn't like the texture... A little sponges for me. Not sure if it was due to the extra chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This cake was kind of flavorless. but when I eat a chocolate cake, i am looking for the motherload. it is actually a really good light option
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
After reading the other reviews, I decided to increase the chocolate to 3 cups of semisweet chocolate chips and increased the milk to 3/4 of a cup. Only baked for 38 minutes and it came out extremely dry. I followed everything else to the letter. I think I should have increased the milk to at least a cup. If I make this again, I think 2 cups of the chips would have been plenty and a cup of sugar rather than 1 1/2. It's very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this for my mom's birthday, and WOW!!! Per recommendations, I doubled the chocolate. I also replaced the sour cream with kiefer, and then added half a pack of pudding. I was careful to not over bake. For the frosting, i whipped fresh cream and another 6 oz of dark chocolate. I sliced the layers in half to make an extra two layers, and then topped the whole thing with chocolate curls. This cake is good chilled or at room temp. My favorite chocolate cake recipe; makes a beautiful restaurant quality cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is very delicious and tastes old fashioned. Look it reminds me of my grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
great for if your running low on time, very mellow chocolate flavor, i used about 3/4 cups of unsweetened chocolate and they turned out great for a spare of the moment cupcake - baked @ 350 for 20-25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I substituted plain yoghurt (no sugar or sugar substitue) for the sour cream and a tablespoon of cream cheese instead. Beautiful rich, yet light and spongy chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Amazing! I loved this recipe. Very easy. I had all ingredients on hand. I used half dark chocolate and 1/2 semisweet. It was great even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so good! I did use 2 cups of semi sweet chocolate, not the 1/2 cup recommended in the recipe. I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips, instead of shaving the chocolate myself. I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I didn't find this recipe to be very good at all! It turned dry very quickly and I didn't think it tasted as good as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States