Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I used this recipe for the cake for my son's 3rd birthday party. Kids and grownups alike loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Important: after reading how chocolate-less this cake seemed to be I used 5 TIMES the amount of chocolate required. I followed the rest of measurements exactly (only I used brown sugar instead of white, and plain unbleached flour that I sifted -instead of cake flour). This cake turned out fantastic, moist and rich! I added a thin layer of homemade frosting on top, although this is really optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I was looking for a cake with some good chocolate flavour and and this was not it. As per previous review it is probably something children might like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
great cake. I made it for cupcakes & they turned out really good. I tripled the amount of chocolate though & I still felt like it needed more chocolate & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This is the first 'from scratch' cake that I've found, that my family likes better than a mix! It is less sweet, and more moist. We love it. I added an extra half cup grated chocolate directly to the batter (unmelted), and substituted soy yogurt for the sour cream. Also substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for one of the eggs. Delish, and healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Well. The good news is, if you are an utter nimrod who's having a bad baking day and forget to add the baking soda, this cake still manages to come out right. That said, I would tend to agree that it doesn't quite deliver in the chocolate category, but if you're not looking for a cake that isn't OVERWHELMINGLY chocolately, this is certainly a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very good and wasn't greatly difficult to make. My whole family greatly enjoyed the cake, it was moist and wasn't too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Easy to make but lacked chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
really really good no not good awsome, radical, OMG. i made this cake for my ant in the hospital because she just had a baby!!!!!! she absolutly loved it!!!!! her baby is six weeks early and 2.10 ounces so i thought she might like a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My son and I made this cake. We both didnt taste the chocolate at all. It taste too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States