Chocolate Buttermilk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Cake was super dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made recipe as is. I think it's delicious, and it's one of the few things I bake that light's up my husband's eyes. He is a chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Top_Ramen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Good recipe. Cake turned out moist and easy to make. Frosting was easy, just make sure you whip the cream in the stiff peaks. Working the chocolate into it will stiffen it a little more which will allow it to hold it's shape when you frost the cake. I added strawberries my cake. I did cut the edges off as they were a little hard. Overall the cake was tasty and easy to make. However, the cake was a bit dense and you probably couldn't eat a big slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I think this is the first time I have ever given a 5 star rating for a chocolate cake. This one tastes (to us) the way a cake should taste - moist, tender and not too heavy. The cake flour does make a difference and certainly only butter. Also, it does not have the baking soda taste that so many chocolate cakes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
it was probably me but i couldnt get the icing to work . but the cake part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The cake flavor was great but beware, it will rise high and will sink as it cools. I will make it again but plan for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Chose this recipe because I had all those ingredients. Big mistake. The frosting was runny and the cake was dry. Best chocolate cake recipe on this site so far is Better than sex chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Not a fan, my sons were highly disappointed especially since it was to be their dad's birthday cake. Followed directions to a 't', but not too much about it was good. Will stick with my old fashioned & original recipes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is the best chocolate cake recipe! My whole family loves it! I have made it about 3 times now. When I make it, I make 2/3 of the recipe (8 servings) and make it in a 9x13 rectangular pan, or a molded pan that I have that looks like a flower. I use light buttermilk and I frost it with canned chocolate frosting because canned frosting has less fat and calories than the homemade kind. It always turns out great and tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I'm a slight novice to cooking. I can follow recipes really well and I've done alot of cakes on allrecipes.com. So I have to say, I was a bit disappointed with this cake. It appeared very dry. That's something I can deal with if it turns out to taste good, but the problem was the icing. I added the chocolate mixture to the beat heavy whipped cream and the two layers separated after about 20 seconds of blending. It would have been nice to know how long to mix them after adding cooled chocolate mixture to heavy cream. Now I don't know what to do about the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States