Chocolate Buttermilk Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Not my favorite. It's ok with the frosting, but then it's more of a cake, not really a bread. The bread alone was very bland, so as written it definitely needs the frosting. I love buttermilk-batter recipes so I would try something like this again, but I would tweak the batter, maybe adding more sugar, some vanilla and even some chocolate chips so as not to have to use the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I used applesauce instead of butter and milk instead of buttermilk. It turned out great. I skipped the icing as I felt it didn't need it. It was great plain, even without butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a very good dense chocolate bread. Makes a nice breakfast bread with coffee. I did not add the frosting. It did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This bread is delicious and is almost the same recipe as Buttermilk Chocolate Bread on this site except this recipe has 1/4 c. more flour and a different spread. This bread is not sticky like some quick breads ... sorta brownie like in flavor but with an almost cake-like texture. I used chocolate chips pulsed through the food processor instead of nuts and did add a tsp. of chocolate extract. After it cooled completely I wrapped it well and put it in the fridge. It was better the next day. I did not make the spread but will next time (I used another spread recipe). This recipe is a keeper and presents itself well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I was disappointed by both the flavor and texture. If you want a real bread instead of a cake, you would add fewer liquids (ie, milk) into the recipe. This bread took forever to bake too - I left it in the oven for 90 minutes! Also, this recipe did not have an intense chocolate flavor; it was like biting into a light chocolate mousse and expecting it to be full of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
If you're looking for a rich flavored bread/cake, consider adding a bit of molasses and a dash of cinnamon. If you're looking for a chocolatey bread/cake, you'll need to replace the nuts with chocolate chips (I used regular-size semi-sweet chips) and consider adding a teaspoon of vanilla. Don't add cinnamon if you're looking for chocolate, since it distracts from what little chocolate flavor there is. This "bread" (more like a dense cake) isn't what you need if you're looking for a chocolate fix, but it is delicious. I went with my suggested chocolate suggestions above (chips and vanilla) and ate it without the frosting. Chocolatey enough to enjoy, but not a chocoholic's dream. Without the chips it wouldn't have really tasted much like chocolate...just a very rich, dark-flavored bread (they help bring out the mild chocolate flavor in the bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Wow, chocolate cake for breakfast!!! I guess you can call it "bread" and get away with it. This was very moist due to the buttermilk and was so delicious. I used 1 & 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. brown sugar and added 1 tsp. of vanilla. This is a versatile recipe because when it comes to that extra 1/3 c. you can add any type of chopped nuts (pecans, walnuts, almonds) or you could use chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, etc... It all depends on your taste. I added 1/3 c. of chopped almonds and did a choclate glaze. I hate to say it, but I took a look at the frosting and it did look like it would be a bit much, so I didn't want to ruin this bread/cake. This is definitely a sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I added 1 ts vanilla, used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of pecans and sugared the pan with sugar in the raw and put some on the top of the batter as well. I DID NOT use frosting; I think that it doesn't need it and adding the chocolate chips and sprinkling sugar on the top before baking adds the necessary sweetness. Overall, a great bread, good for breakfast (if like sweets that early) or a good dessert/snack bread. Quick, easy, yummy. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
this was DELICIOUS and moist! it was chocolatey without being saccharine. and it was easy! my non-baker friend made this and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I added cinnamon, vanilla, and mini chocolate chips. I baked it in 5 mini ceramic loaf pans to give as gifts. The bread came out very moist and delicious! I left off the icing but decorated the loaves with a drizzle of icing made with powdered sugar and milk. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States