Chocolate Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Fantastic frosting. Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Im only giving it 4 stars because i made changes after reading other reviews- It came out beautifully and spread very well even smoothed out nice to give me the crisp clean lines like a reg buttercream -used 1c. crisco & 1c. butter instead of 2c.butter -added 2 tbsp cocoa powder to the sugar -omitted eggs & added 4 tbsp of cold milk in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This recipe was wonderful, though I omitted the raw eggs. The consistency was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rbsoccermom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very, very good. Made it exactly as written with 2 exceptions; I used 1 c. butter and substituted shortening for the 2nd cup (but only because it was for my daughter and she's not that crazy about butter) and I added a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to intensify the chocolate flavor. This recipe made PLENTY of frosting for my two 8-inch cakes and in fact I could've split the cakes and made 4 layers and still had enough. It spread easily and firmed up nicely in the fridge, so I can tell it would be fine for piping. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbsoccermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This has become my family's favorite chocolate frosting. I'm looking for a white or close-to-white frosting that is just as good - at least one that requires this much beating and turns out this fluffy. Does anyone know if I can accomplish this by just leaving the chocolate out of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this frosting to use on kids' cupcakes. Everyone loved it, but I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars, as there is no way I would serve frosting with raw egg in it, especially to children. I omitted the eggs, and after blending in the chocolate, I substituted enough milk to reach the desired consistency, then beat the mixture for 4 minutes. I also omitted the salt, which no one missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was marvelous! A great compliment to the Buttermilk Chocolate Cake, also on this site. I was going to make the fudge icing that goes with that recipe, but then I realized I was out of cocoa powder. I AM EXTREMELY GLAD I TRIED THIS RECIPE. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Lovely texture and taste. Easy to make. This will be a hit at a 5 year olds birthday tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINIMARTINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I've used this recipe twice to rave reviews. I substituted cointreau instead of the vanilla extract (doubled what the recipe called for on the vanilla extract). they were a smashing success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This "frosting" is very good but is not the original for this torte. The original "buttercream" uses a cooked sugar/water syrup, sweet butter, bitter chocolate and egg yolks. Vanilla and dark rum were added to make the flavor unique. One must try it to appreciate the "Swiss Chocolate" creamy texture and flavor. I submitted the recipe on 15/01/07 but it is still waiting for review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States