Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Fabulous as is, but who could resist making it even more intense. I used 3 ounces of the chocolate instead of the 1 ounce, this created a more pronounced chocolate flavor. Some of the other reviewers should try this recipe again with the additional chocolate and they will see it is a winner! If the butter softens too much (as on a humid day) allow extra time for chilling the frosting before adding to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious, flavorful, fluffy, creamy and smooth chocolate buttercream. This is easily worked with to get the degree of chocolatiness you're looking for. I used the pre-melted envelopes of unsweetened chocolate and added, I think, two or three envelopes beyond what the recipe called for, not that it wasn't good without it - for the cake I used it on I just wanted it a deeper chocolate. Leave out the chocolate, add a little less milk, and you've got a great vanilla buttercream! I would double this recipe for a 9x13 cake or for a 9" layer cake and make even more if you want ample to pipe decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Unbelievably delicious! This creamy frosting tastes like premium chocolate ice cream. Spreads easily, even over delicate cakes. I've been in the food industry for years, and this is hands down the best chocolate frosting recipe I've come across. Double the recipe for a 13 x 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Oh so good, and oh so chocolately! I doubled this and used Ghiardelli chocolate sqares. Very easy to work with and so good it was hard not to eat this before it got on the cake! I used it to frost and fill "Four Egg Yellow Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
very creamy easy-to-make frosting. I recommend it. Make sure to double it for a layer cake! Also, if you use salted butter like I do, you should leave out the pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I used this recipe to frost my husband's birthday cake, and we both LOVED it! It was delicious and very easy to make, and best of all, didn't have that nasty, mouth-coating texture that a lot of buttercream recipes (usually the ones with shortening) have. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I did not personally taste this, but the rest of the family loved it. I did make it with melted (added a little shortening) semi-sweet chips as it was all I had (instead of the melting- chocolate squares). I just melted 1/4 of a bag (I doubled the whole recipe for a 9 x 13)in the microwave 1 minute to start then stirred, then 30 second intervals until smooth. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This was incredibly good! I made it in less than 5 minutes, it tasted great, and it's a beautiful shade of creamy rich brown. Every chocolate lover will die with the melt in your mouth texture, and be screaming for more. Try this one recipe, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Tripled this recipe as suggested and added 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 raspberry flavoring and it was DIVINE! Was perfect to frost a 2 layer cake. Topped it with fresh raspberries... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This is a great and simple frosting!! I used the premelted Hershey's chocolate so it was even easier. The taste was excellent!! Would make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States