Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This was incredibly good! I made it in less than 5 minutes, it tasted great, and it's a beautiful shade of creamy rich brown. Every chocolate lover will die with the melt in your mouth texture, and be screaming for more. Try this one recipe, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This is a great and simple frosting!! I used the premelted Hershey's chocolate so it was even easier. The taste was excellent!! Would make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I put this on the cherry chocolate cake, it was very good. It may have been a little too rich though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This frosting is wonderful!!! I have bought the chocolate buttercream frostings in a can but they were never exactly what I wanted. This recipe was perfect! I will not buy chocolate frosting from the store again! Also, just in case someone needs to know, I was able to frost a 9x13 cake using the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I did not personally taste this, but the rest of the family loved it. I did make it with melted (added a little shortening) semi-sweet chips as it was all I had (instead of the melting- chocolate squares). I just melted 1/4 of a bag (I doubled the whole recipe for a 9 x 13)in the microwave 1 minute to start then stirred, then 30 second intervals until smooth. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Oh my goodness!!! This frosting is awesome! I am so glad you posted this recipe. I had to double it for my cake(double layer round). I used it to frost my chocolate mayonnaise cake. I think I have found THE recipe for birthday cakes!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I like the taste of this frosting a lot. I used it with the Cherry Chocolate cake, which I made twice. I scaled the recipe to make 12 servings, but there wasn't enough liquid. For 12 servings, it said use 1/4 cup butter + 2 tablespoons of butter, but I had to use 1/2 cup butter. I also used half and half instead of milk. This was just enough to cover the cake. I would make for 14 or 16 servings next time in order to have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Excellent taste and texture. I added 1/2 tsp of instant coffee to enhanse the chocolate flavor. It will go well on my chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAKEGODDES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This frosting was excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States