Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
WOW! this was fast easy and so yummy....this was the first homemade frosting i have made i would say double the recipe doesnt make alot...but everyone loved it... Kathy Capezzuto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathys kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
One of most simple recipes I have found good flavor, added food coloring to make it a richer brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's simply delicious !!! Instead I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup of the sugar and bittersweet ghirardelli, the consistency was perfect and the flavor not too sweet. Everybody loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
it's a little grainy unless you add more milk, kind of buttery, greasy too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rankinme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Super easy, great chocolate flavor! I made this to top a chococolate cupcake that I filled with a peanut butter/cream cheese mixture. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
If you love chocolate, like my family, use 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa. It gives it a rich chocolate flavor that even me (not a chocolate fan) enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawson247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very nice with a not too chocolate punch. You will need to add more chocolate if that's your thing, but I like the light flavor this has. However, it is very sweet. I would cut the sugar a little, but a very easy and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donnie Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This frosting was very difficult to work with until I added more than twice the amount of milk called for in the recipe. And it is way too sweet. I tripled it and it covered a two layer cake very well with a bit left over. Once I added all the extra milk it was very easy to work with but by then I had battled with it while putting on the crumb coat. I made this because I didn't have the ingredients for the buttercream I typically make (Martha Stewart's), I should have just made a quick trip to the store instead of fighting with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is one of the best frosting recipes I've tried! I doubled the recipe for a double layer 9 inch cake and it just barely covered it. My only complaint is that it was a little stiff, but I'll definitely use this recipe again and just try to tweak it so it's slightly creamier. All in all - VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This will be my chocolate butter-creme frosting recipe! No need to look any farther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States