Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
One of most simple recipes I have found good flavor, added food coloring to make it a richer brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's simply delicious !!! Instead I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup of the sugar and bittersweet ghirardelli, the consistency was perfect and the flavor not too sweet. Everybody loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
it's a little grainy unless you add more milk, kind of buttery, greasy too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubiome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Super easy, great chocolate flavor! I made this to top a chococolate cupcake that I filled with a peanut butter/cream cheese mixture. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
If you love chocolate, like my family, use 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa. It gives it a rich chocolate flavor that even me (not a chocolate fan) enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawson247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very nice with a not too chocolate punch. You will need to add more chocolate if that's your thing, but I like the light flavor this has. However, it is very sweet. I would cut the sugar a little, but a very easy and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This frosting was very difficult to work with until I added more than twice the amount of milk called for in the recipe. And it is way too sweet. I tripled it and it covered a two layer cake very well with a bit left over. Once I added all the extra milk it was very easy to work with but by then I had battled with it while putting on the crumb coat. I made this because I didn't have the ingredients for the buttercream I typically make (Martha Stewart's), I should have just made a quick trip to the store instead of fighting with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is one of the best frosting recipes I've tried! I doubled the recipe for a double layer 9 inch cake and it just barely covered it. My only complaint is that it was a little stiff, but I'll definitely use this recipe again and just try to tweak it so it's slightly creamier. All in all - VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This will be my chocolate butter-creme frosting recipe! No need to look any farther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made this frosting for the 4 egg yellow cake. I doubled the recipie and used ghiradeli chocolate squares. Everyone loved it! So easy to make and I had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States