Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
its an easy recipe to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used this recipe to frost the "4 egg yellow cake" from this site. I doubled it and it was enough to cover two 9in cakes with just a little leftover, so I added it to the top of the cake. It was perfect. Side note: confectioners sugar and butter will not be "light and fluffy" it will look like wet sand. Just continue to add the rest of the ingredients and mix, it'll turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I liked this recipe pretty well. I agree with earlier reviews that it's not overly chocolatey, so I would add more unsweetened chocolate for a richer flavor. Altogether very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
We love chocolate cake but hate to overwhelm it with a too rich or too sweet or too heavy frosting. This was none of those things....it was absolute perfection. Light, fluffy, and a real chocolate flavor. Don't change a thing, just double it to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
For anyone wondering, I yielded enough frosting to THINLY spread on 12 cupcakes. I stress the thinly part. Really good flavor. I even added a bit of cold coffee for a little extra flavor. I was worried a bit at first because the butter and sugar absolutely didn't come together until I added the chocolate and so on. Also, I needed to add a bit (1/4 C about?) extra milk to improve the texture, like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is an idiot proof recipe for chocolate buttercream. Love it! It tastes great, not an overpowering chocolate flavor but still very rich. I would like to point out that at no time did my sugar and butter become "light and fluffy". It was more like a soft dough which just sucked up the chocolate and milk and magically transformed into perfect frosting. It is fun to watch this one come together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Used orange extract instead of vanilla for a dark chocolate-orange-rum cake. The frosting came out perfectly and was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
So easy to make, and yet so good to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This will definitely become my go-to frosting. I substituted evaporated milk for regular milk and used two squares instead of 1-1/2. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Delicious, and very easy to make. Not ultra-sweet, which is perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States