Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Tottally GREAT tasty frosting!! tasted fantastiic on the butter cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for....fluffy, creamy, chocolatey frosting, without that cocoa-ey taste. YUM!!! I tripled it to frost and fill a 9" layer cake and it was way more than I needed. I had to throw the extra frosting away because my family and I couldn't stop eating it. Only change I made was to make it a "mocha" frosting by adding a couple teaspoons of instant coffee to the melted chocolate/milk. So good!!! Also, don't worry if the powdered sugar/butter doesn't end up "fluffy" on its own, as the first step suggests. It will all come together and get fluffy once the other ingredients are added and you beat it on high for a bit. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
very creamy and delicious.... and so easy to make. I followed the other reviews and doubled the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
It tasted great but a short time after frosting the cake it hardened up. When I cut the cake the frosting just crumbled into pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I love this recipe! If I have it in the fridge, I substitute heavy whipping cream for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Quite rich and yummy. I made the base recipe the first time and it was incredible! The second time I made it, I added 1 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee grounds to the milk (which I heated so the coffee would dissolve.) I also added a heaping tsp of chili powder. EXTRA YUMMY rich and a nice kick! FOR NEW COOKS: Don't overcook the chocolate or you'll ruin it and DO NOT overbeat or the chocolate will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I had some chocolate seize on me (whoops!) so I tripled this recipe and used my seized chocolate in place of the melted chocolate (I used about 6 oz chocolate) and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
its an easy recipe to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used this recipe to frost the "4 egg yellow cake" from this site. I doubled it and it was enough to cover two 9in cakes with just a little leftover, so I added it to the top of the cake. It was perfect. Side note: confectioners sugar and butter will not be "light and fluffy" it will look like wet sand. Just continue to add the rest of the ingredients and mix, it'll turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I liked this recipe pretty well. I agree with earlier reviews that it's not overly chocolatey, so I would add more unsweetened chocolate for a richer flavor. Altogether very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States