Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yummy! I increased the chocolate to 2 oz . It was easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this exactly as directed in the recipe except that I tripled the batch. The flavor was really good and at first the texture was great, too. It was fluffy, light, and flavorful. As time wore on, however, it just got stiffer and drier... never to the point of crumbling during cutting like some mentioned in their reviews, but let's just say I didn't have to worry about the cake sticking to the plastic wrap I covered it with! The three batches gave me barely enough to cover a 9" round layer cake and that was not using it between layers (I used Cream Cheese Frosting II for that). Still, the men in the house thought it was awesome and that I was a genius. The 3 stars are my opinion, not theirs! I may keep looking, but this recipe will do in a pinch. Just spread it quickly and don't refrigerate it before using it. My leftovers were solid as fudge long after pulling them out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Just made this frosting for hubby's b'day cake... best chocolate frosting I've ever made. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I'm sure it will be a hit later on with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used the 3 oz of chocolate as suggested. Good recipe, not too sweet. Enough to frost an angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
A friend made this to frost her "Thunder Cake". It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Easy recipe and It didn't turn out bad, but it wasn't what I was hoping for. I'll keep searching. Thank God my husband enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Excellent. I doubled everything for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolTyson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Don't change a thing! Excellent recipe! I had no problem with doubling the recipe. I did however use unsalted butter don't know if that was intended or not but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I doubled the recipe (to frost 24 cupcakes) and threw in an extra square of Baker's chocolate per the advice of other reviews. The frosting tastes delicious, very chocolatey. My only reservation is the consistency. It seemed a little dry. Perhaps I needed a few more drops of milk, but I don't think that was exactly it. It also seemed slightly grainy. I'm not sure what it was but when I frosted the cupcakes, you could see a few grains of something... sugar? butter?... I don't know what. Could have been my fault for not beating the butter and sugar long enough or for not sifting the sugar. Maybe a little shortening would have made a smoother, glossier frosting? Next time I might substitute a little shortening for some of the butter, 1 part shortening to 3 parts butter, perhaps. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a really quick and easy frosting. Don't panic if the powdered sugar/butter mixture doesn't get light and fluffy right away. It takes a couple of minutes to come together. It is not a super chocolaty frosting, it has a lighter flavor which goes well with dark chocolate cake or cupcakes. If you want a stronger chocolate taste, you could add more or darker chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States