Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Easy recipe and It didn't turn out bad, but it wasn't what I was hoping for. I'll keep searching. Thank God my husband enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Excellent. I doubled everything for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolTyson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Don't change a thing! Excellent recipe! I had no problem with doubling the recipe. I did however use unsalted butter don't know if that was intended or not but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I doubled the recipe (to frost 24 cupcakes) and threw in an extra square of Baker's chocolate per the advice of other reviews. The frosting tastes delicious, very chocolatey. My only reservation is the consistency. It seemed a little dry. Perhaps I needed a few more drops of milk, but I don't think that was exactly it. It also seemed slightly grainy. I'm not sure what it was but when I frosted the cupcakes, you could see a few grains of something... sugar? butter?... I don't know what. Could have been my fault for not beating the butter and sugar long enough or for not sifting the sugar. Maybe a little shortening would have made a smoother, glossier frosting? Next time I might substitute a little shortening for some of the butter, 1 part shortening to 3 parts butter, perhaps. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a really quick and easy frosting. Don't panic if the powdered sugar/butter mixture doesn't get light and fluffy right away. It takes a couple of minutes to come together. It is not a super chocolaty frosting, it has a lighter flavor which goes well with dark chocolate cake or cupcakes. If you want a stronger chocolate taste, you could add more or darker chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Tottally GREAT tasty frosting!! tasted fantastiic on the butter cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for....fluffy, creamy, chocolatey frosting, without that cocoa-ey taste. YUM!!! I tripled it to frost and fill a 9" layer cake and it was way more than I needed. I had to throw the extra frosting away because my family and I couldn't stop eating it. Only change I made was to make it a "mocha" frosting by adding a couple teaspoons of instant coffee to the melted chocolate/milk. So good!!! Also, don't worry if the powdered sugar/butter doesn't end up "fluffy" on its own, as the first step suggests. It will all come together and get fluffy once the other ingredients are added and you beat it on high for a bit. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
very creamy and delicious.... and so easy to make. I followed the other reviews and doubled the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
It tasted great but a short time after frosting the cake it hardened up. When I cut the cake the frosting just crumbled into pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I love this recipe! If I have it in the fridge, I substitute heavy whipping cream for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States