Chocolate Butter Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I ALWAYS use this recipe! the reason everyone is having problems with this icing is simple: depends on how soft your butter is...the softer butter gives you a soft consistancy, even if u start with hard stick of butter, its easy to over mix, and it melts...also melts in a hot kitchen if you're baking a lot. You WILL have to tweek this recipe every time u make it..because of this...ALSO..if u sift the powdered sugar, it will change the ingred. slightly, so, i always add milk last, in ver small amounts to get it where i want it to be...you can also add about a tsp or so, to your liking to get a glossier icing that spreads easier...i also add more cocoa cause i fiend for chocolate, lol. which also means more butter, more milk more sugar, to get it the consistancy i prefer. you can also tweek it to 1/2 shortening and butter for more of a store bought taste...i also add vanilla to this recipe. different variations..but all the same recipe in general. its just what u prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I am a cake decorator,and have tried many different icings, this chocolate butter cream is by far the best I have tasted yet, creamy and not too sweet. It isn't stiff enough to make roses but this creamy milk chocolate icing makes any cake a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I gave this recipe an average rating not because I was successful in making it but because it seemed like it would have been easy is if had turned out. There is not nearly enough liquid to make this recipe work. It would be nice to know the correct measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm not entirely sure why the recipe only calls for 1 tsp milk -- it definitely wasn't enough. But I just added a little more until it looked to be the right consistency. It turned out really good; unlike many other recipes I've tried, it stayed soft for days instead of getting sort of stiff and crumbly like others do. Overall...very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Really easy recipe - I used 1/3 cup of milk and it came out really creamy. I gave 4 stars because I would like a buttery taste - but since my son's party is in a couple of hours this worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Wonderful recipe - modified using heavy cream to make the texture what I wanted - instead of milk and the amount ended up being between 4-6 TBS probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Perfect! I was looking for an icing for chocolate zucchini muffins and this did the trick. It's nice and thick and holds shape well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this recipe!!!! I made 3 small changes. I used half butter/half shorting, added 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp. salt to cut the sweetness. It turned out so well and my kids love putting in a piping bag to decorate cupcakes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was below average to okay as written. Like others have said, it needs way more milk to be spreadable. I also ended up adding almost twice as much cocoa to get a really good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Now that I think about it I'm sure I added a lot more (warmed) milk as I realize by reading others' remarks there was not nearly enough for the amount of sugar. I made this recipe to cover a chocolate cake made by my mom, only I added some vanilla flavouring. Everyone loved it. I found the recipe delicious, and both easy to make and economical compared to ones where you have to melt chocolate chips or squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States