Chocolate Butter Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I gave this recipe an average rating not because I was successful in making it but because it seemed like it would have been easy is if had turned out. There is not nearly enough liquid to make this recipe work. It would be nice to know the correct measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This frosting tasted really good, but even though I added the icing sugar really gradually, there was not nearly enough liquid - I only ended up using about half of the icing sugar and adding more milk until it was the right consistency. I would recommend this frosting, but be ready to experiment with the milk and sugar amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Now that I think about it I'm sure I added a lot more (warmed) milk as I realize by reading others' remarks there was not nearly enough for the amount of sugar. I made this recipe to cover a chocolate cake made by my mom, only I added some vanilla flavouring. Everyone loved it. I found the recipe delicious, and both easy to make and economical compared to ones where you have to melt chocolate chips or squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I am a cake decorator,and have tried many different icings, this chocolate butter cream is by far the best I have tasted yet, creamy and not too sweet. It isn't stiff enough to make roses but this creamy milk chocolate icing makes any cake a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Really easy recipe - I used 1/3 cup of milk and it came out really creamy. I gave 4 stars because I would like a buttery taste - but since my son's party is in a couple of hours this worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm not entirely sure why the recipe only calls for 1 tsp milk -- it definitely wasn't enough. But I just added a little more until it looked to be the right consistency. It turned out really good; unlike many other recipes I've tried, it stayed soft for days instead of getting sort of stiff and crumbly like others do. Overall...very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
no. no. no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Wonderful recipe - modified using heavy cream to make the texture what I wanted - instead of milk and the amount ended up being between 4-6 TBS probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a simple good recipe, especially with the advice of others about the ingredient amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This made a large amount of icing. I added more milk as needed to get to desired consistency. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States