Chocolate Butter Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this frosting last night and I did make some very heavy changes. I used 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup dark cocoa powder (sifted) with 2 sticks of softened butter and 2/3 cup of shortening. I omitted the milk altogether and I must say it is one of the tastiest butter cream frostings I have ever made! It was very easy to pipe onto yellow cupcakes and then I put them in the refridgerator to help them set. They are rich and chocolatey without being too sweet. I love the dark chocolate color of the frosting as well. Thank so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Fast and easy. Taste as good as any chocolate frosting you can buy. I'll use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rustyrod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I had to make this without a mixer and it was very thick so I had to add more butter and milk. It is the best frosting I have ever had. I just need to get a mixer for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was the recipe that came out tasting most like what my husband's grandmother's creates! :) I agree with previous posts that this icing is wayyyyy too sweet, though. Next time I would try just TWO cups of confectioners sugar to start, mix with the softened butter until smooth, then add the cocoa and milk. You do have to fiddle around a bit - not only get the taste you want, but also the consistency. All that sugar made mine way too dry with just one teaspoon of milk added, so I had to counter with more milk. To lessen the sweetness I countered with more butter & not too much additional cocoa because it was chocolate-y enough. Now I have a lifetime's supply of chocolate buttercream icing, haha. So, yeah, I would definitely recommend starting this recipe with less sugar and slowly building up from there. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
It was okay. The flavor was pretty nice, but it was sickeningly sweet. Even my boyfriend, who likes to eat maple syrup plain, thought it was too sweet. I added more cocoa powder to mellow it out, as well as a bit more butter. I also used heavy cream, because I had a bit left over, and ended up using a fair amount more than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this recipe!!!! I made 3 small changes. I used half butter/half shorting, added 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp. salt to cut the sweetness. It turned out so well and my kids love putting in a piping bag to decorate cupcakes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was below average to okay as written. Like others have said, it needs way more milk to be spreadable. I also ended up adding almost twice as much cocoa to get a really good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I think the recipe is alright but the measurements are a bit off. I used 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of whipping cream and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Perfect! I was looking for an icing for chocolate zucchini muffins and this did the trick. It's nice and thick and holds shape well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I ALWAYS use this recipe! the reason everyone is having problems with this icing is simple: depends on how soft your butter is...the softer butter gives you a soft consistancy, even if u start with hard stick of butter, its easy to over mix, and it melts...also melts in a hot kitchen if you're baking a lot. You WILL have to tweek this recipe every time u make it..because of this...ALSO..if u sift the powdered sugar, it will change the ingred. slightly, so, i always add milk last, in ver small amounts to get it where i want it to be...you can also add about a tsp or so, to your liking to get a glossier icing that spreads easier...i also add more cocoa cause i fiend for chocolate, lol. which also means more butter, more milk more sugar, to get it the consistancy i prefer. you can also tweek it to 1/2 shortening and butter for more of a store bought taste...i also add vanilla to this recipe. different variations..but all the same recipe in general. its just what u prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States