Chocolate Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This cake was pretty good but something was a little off. I did not actually have chocolate so I used a can of tuna fish. I also followed another reader's advice and stirred in some mustard. I just hate to find what looks like such a great recipe and have it not turn out to be what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was the best cake I have ever made. I followed another cook's advice and added a box of chocolate pudding mix. I also used buttermilk instead of milk for an incredibly rich, moist and sinful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
It's simple and easy! I reduce amount of milk by 1/4 cup, and add 1/4 cup of sour cream (light) to enhance flavor. It was moist and yummy!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This cake was great, but somehow it made way too much batter and overfilled the Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
The cake tasted good but it exploded out of the bundt pan and made a huge mess!! I suggest putting in less and making 2 cakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This cake is easy to make and delicious. I made this for a friend's birthday then had to make it for my family. Because it is such a large cake, I cut it in half using two eggs and baked it for 50 minutes in a 8" square pan. Make sure you use a 10" bundt pan for the whole recipe. Most likely bakers that had trouble with batter spilling over used the wrong size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I was really dissapointed with this recipe, after reading all of the rave reviews. It was really dry. Zhe only saving grace was the chocolate glaze II recipe (also found here) that I topped it with. It was so dry - I was embarassed. I don't know if I cooked it too long but I would definitely not cook it 70 minutes again - probably more like 55 and I would try something like sour cream instead of milk or add applesauce.... don't know what would fix it but this just was not a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
i added a box of jello devils food pudding to this recipe and was seriously the most delicious chocolate cake we've had. thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Nice and moist, but not nearly chocolatey enough, even though I added chocolate chips to the batter. My family liked it, though; maybe just more cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Good cake. I got a fancy new pan for Christmas and was dying for something to bake in it! I was worried about it overflowing and put a cookie sheet under it. It rose above the pan but managed to stay in it! I didn't want to put frosting on it, as the pan makes it so pretty, so I dusted it with powdered sugar and it was good. I found it even better the second day (couldn't tell ya about the third, as it didn't last that long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States