Chocolate Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This has become a staple at my house. My 10 year old loves to make it also. It's very moist and chocolatey tasting. A simple recipe that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The cake is in the oven now but I'm nervous - I started making it before I noticed it needed 5 eggs! 3 cups of white sugar! 1.5 cups of butter/shortening! and has a zillion calories and grams of fat. It's baking and I made a lot of substitutions - less sugar, less butter and more milk and low-fat sour cream so hopefully it won't be a disaster. UPDATE: The cake turned out fine - thank goodness. But, like I mentioned, I couldn't bear to add so many fatty ingredients so I only added 1 cup of butter (no shortening), 1 cup of white sugar (the cocoa powder had some cinnamon and sugar in it), 2 eggs (that's all we had) and two tablespoons of low-fat sour cream. I also left out about 1/4 of the mix as it looked like it was going to fill the bundt pan too full. It turned out more like a spice cake with choco chips but was still moist and quite good. Still, I don't know if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
really a great recipe--- i made half with the cocoa powder and half without, then marbled it... turned out fabulous. i'm definitely making this one again... i don't know why some users found it dry. it worked out for me very nicely. now i'm babbling... but definitely try this out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SofiaSasparilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is the best chocolate cake I've ever had! I made it today, since we were having my grandparents over for the 4th of July. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Sorry-- this cake did not work well for me. I am not picky-- but I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This cake was terrific. I cooked it 10 minutes longer then it recomended. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This cake was delicious and pretty easy to make. I do agree it makes way more than just one cake. I filled my pan about ¾ of the way full and then I used the rest to make 12 cupcakes and we also ate a good bit of frosting!! It was chocolate but not too chocolaty. It has a really great taste!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I listened to the previous reviewers, and only poured half of the batter into my bundt pan. I also substituted 1/4 c sour cream and 3/4 c milk to try and make it more moist, and that failed. It was very dry. Decent flavor, but not very chocolatey enough. I even dusted the bundt pan with cocoa powder instead of flour to boost the chocolate flavor, and it didn't help. Using the chocolate glaze II from this site helped a little - but be sure to have a glass of milk on hand when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very tasty. It did not need frosting, as it was sweet enough by itself. I had massive overflow so the second time I put the extra batter in a 3-cup soup crock and I still had overflow! You can easily make a large and small bunt cake out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This cake is easy to make and delicious. I made this for a friend's birthday then had to make it for my family. Because it is such a large cake, I cut it in half using two eggs and baked it for 50 minutes in a 8" square pan. Make sure you use a 10" bundt pan for the whole recipe. Most likely bakers that had trouble with batter spilling over used the wrong size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States