Chocolate Brownies with Fewer Calories Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I changed this recipe up a bit. Use 1/3 cup all purpose flour and 1/3 cup whole wheat flour-1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup splenda-1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. I totally space out the pinch of salt, whoops. I divided them into a mini muffin and cooked them for about 15 min. I sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top and let them cool. They came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephani
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
They are very moist but they dont have much taste to them! Maybe some chocolate ice cream to go with them would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love them, with a few slight modifications. I almost doubled the amount of chocolate, probably to about 10 ounces (I used chocolate chips). Than I added about a teaspoon of instant coffee to the chocolate chips once they were melted. Than I put them in cupcake pans so they would cook evenly and be nice serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Good but not great. Lots of other brownie recipes are much better. tasted much better the next day. I truly don't understand the 5 star ratings given by others. 5 stars should be for the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
When making a recipe like this, one must always keep in mind what the title and the ingredients are, and what they are intended for. These are, of course, not going to be as good as the butter rich, fudgy brownies that we all dream about. But for what they are, these are pretty decent brownies. One thing they do have is a rich, chocolatey flavor. They are moist, but not really fudgy. I baked 1/2 of the batter in a mini muffin pan and drizzled those with vanilla glaze. Then I had enough for a small pan as well. I cut those, topped with light cool whip, and some leftover raspberry sauce. Now that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome brownies! I also pour some evaporated milk in the middle of the brownies and they were were more moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
First, let me say I made a few changes. I used milk instead of water, about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and 2 eggs instead of 4 whites (I only had 2 eggs on hand). That said, this was a very good recipe. They weren't as good as regular brownies, of course, but for being lower in fat than regular brownies these were great. The batter was very thin, and I was a bit worried, but they cooked up nicely. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemyturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Not sweet at all and batter is really runny. Not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I am sorry, but these weren't that good. I knew I wasn't going to get a ooey-gooey fudgy brownie...but these came out like a spongy-airy german chocolate cake. I did add a couple Tablespoons of mini chocolate chips to the batter...and when they were done...the chips sunk to the bottom of the brownie. I had to put fudge frosting on these to pass them off to my family! I can eat anything chocolate, but these didn't come out like I had expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These were unfortunately pretty tasteless and dry. I think if I were to try them again, I would probably add some apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States