Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Baked 11-13 minutes at 325 degrees F, so as to not burn them. Added extra pecans. Not bad, but something is missing... I tried it a second time and added a little Nutella to the chocolate coating for a nuttier flavor, however with this batch I used vegetable oil spread instead of butter- DON'T DO IT. If you're like me and trying to cut calories in your cooking, I understand, but this recipe really needs butter. My brittle turned out gooey and like caramel that will forever be stuck in your teeth. If you do make the same mistake I did, store the brittle in the freezer in between indulgences! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanne033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't really like this. It's very sweet and the crackers inside seem to have absorbed the butter and are greasy. It was easy to make, but I wouldn't do it again. I also think the caramel needed to cook more before pouring over the crackers, I usually do it on the stove and I think that method works a lot better than the microwave, even if it takes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I did use graham crackers as some others did just because I had them. I cooked this on the stove top rather than the microwave since my microwave is unpredictable. Then I only had to cook it for 10 minutes in the oven. I left off the chocolate chips and it tasted great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great easy recipe for holiday parties. I have made them twice now and are giving them away as holiday gifts in a plastic bag with xmas ribbon. I also used crushed almonds. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Super easy! Super sweet! I'm renaming this "Poor Mans Brittle Surprise"! Perfect low cost delish desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!*******!!!!!!!!!******* This is all I ever want to make for Christmas from now on! I melted my butter and dark brown sugar on stove. Easier for me to do so! This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This brittle is the best and easy to make - my son and grandchildren keep asking for more. I did replace the soda crackers with Cinnamon Graham Crackers and loved it. Be careful with the time in the oven - mine was done in 10 minutes and already bubbling. It would have burned if I didn't check it early. Otherwise, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abshoward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bear Creek, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
AMAZING! I swirled dark and white chocolate chips on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fhrngrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States