Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I have been a member of this site since 2000 and have never rated a recipe before today. But I just had to add my input for this one. I have been making this every year since 12/4/2000. Every year I have to make many batches. It disappears quickly. In fact just the other night a woman I did not know, stopped me at a party before I left to ask me for the recipe. Of course I gave her this website and the name of the recipe. I would like to address some of the issues that I have read. If your candy turned out greasy the butter and brown sugar probably were not fully combined before it was poured on. You have to stir it every 30 seconds and it may need another 30 if not combined after 2 min. If the edges were burnt, check your oven temp. with an oven themometer. It may be running a little hot. I have made this in several different ovens over the years and have found this to be the case. If it comes out soupy it may not have cooked for long enough or the oven may be running not hot enough. When you put on the pecans or other nuts of choice, lightly press with your hand flat or with the bottom of a large measuring cup. Less topping will be lost.Also another variation, try with white chocolate chips and crused candy canes.I have made 6 batches of this within the past couple of days and will probably make a few more. It's a great last minute gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was Excellent! One Change that my Husband thought of and made a Great Difference is using Graham Crackers instead of Saltines. We tried both and favor the Cinnamon Graham Crackers! The first batch we burned...I think ours only took like 10-13min...So keep a Close Eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Oh My God! This was absolutely delicious! I found that mine burned around the edges so I'll have to play around with the baking time. I also found that semi-sweet chips over-powered the pecans so I tried milk chocolate chips and toasted chopped almonds for the perfect match. I sprinkled the chips and nuts at the same time, waited a couple of minutes and then spread the melted chocolate with the nuts so that the nuts wouldn't fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My only change to this recipe is that I crush the crackers, then stir the cracker crumbs into the sugar/butter mixture and pour into a greased pan. That way I don't have to worry about all the crackers getting coated enough. This is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I have to admit I was very skeptical about this one! I wouldn't have tried it but the reviews were so good! And it really was everything that everybody said it was! I even used SALTED crackers cause thats what I had on hand, and they were so good I had to hide them in the freezer so they woudn't get eaten in one sitting. They defrosted great too. I recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
i made this bark just this morning with a slightly different recipe, but it was just as popular and tasty as this one evidently is. i used saltines on a 12x17 pan and didn't need cooking spray. i boiled 1 cup butter with 1 cup white sugar for 2 mins., spread it on the saltines, and baked at 400 degrees for 8 mins. i mixed 12 oz. choc chips with 10 oz. peanut butter chips and spread on top with a rubber spatula. too delicious for words!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Very easy recipe and everyone loved it. They were all impressed with my candy-making ability. I did make the mistake of doubling the recipe and putting two pans in the oven at once. The pan I put on the bottom burned. So, if you double the recipe, put one pan in the oven at a time and don't use a lower rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe is great! I made 3 batches at Xmas. I've found that 17-20 mins can be too long and result in a burnt taste in spots, so I cook it for 10-13 minutes. Also, I have mixed in a cup of milk choc. chips with a cup of semisweet for a smoother chocolate taste, which has worked well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This stuff was amazing! I found it was more efficient to soak a few crackers at a time in the hot butter and sugar mixture and then place them on the foil instead of pouring the mixture right onto all of the crackers. And I only kept them in the oven for 10 minutes (I was afraid they would burn). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Very good and very easy! The second time I made this I used milk chocolate pieces in place of the semisweet and I liked it even better. I also only use about 1/3 cup pecans because any more than that seem to fall off for me when I break them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States