Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
if i could i would give these 4 1/2 stars... 5 for the taste (YUM!) and 4 for appearance. all went well (and was super easy) until i reached the chocolate chip stage... even after two minutes of sitting on top the hot brittle they wouldn't spread easily. i ended up with a grainy looking top :( i tried to pop them back in the oven but that didn't seem to help either. *sigh* next time i will either melt the chocolate first OR omit it all together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
As soon as I read "1 cup of butter" I knew it would be good! This was fast and tasty. Certainly great for a quick little treat. Used milk chocolate chips as it is our preference. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
It must be me but I'm not loving this. I was hoping to love it but that's not the case, it's good but not something I would crave. I first tried it using ghee (clarified butter) but it didn't work. The sugar melted but the butter never mixed in no matter how much I tried. I then used regular butter and it was fast to get the caramel color. I'll give this recipe another try when the holiday is near and see if my opinion changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was pretty good, but the amount of the sugar syrup was not enough. I did 2.5 times as much to cover the crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I am also one of the many who is glad I read the positive reviews and gave this weird-looking recipe a shot. It's fantastic! I even used some old matzah on the bottom when I ran out of crackers (which were salted and worked out fine) and it just gave the brittle some additional structure and crunch. This tastes like a Skor chocolate bar. I LOVED this one. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These were easy, quick, and good. Couldn't find "unsalted soda crackers", so I used regular club crackers. Also, I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
So simple and so yummy!!! I could not stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
It always amazes me how few ingredients and such a simple recipe can produce something that tastes amazing. My entire family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were so good I could not stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Turned out good but not great, I baked for only 15 mins and it was still on the verge of being overdone, has a slight burnt taste to it, Not enough to throw it away but if i had done 17-20 mins this definately would have went in the garbage. I cooked the candy in a pyrex mesuring cup which made it easy to pour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States