Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow, these were surprisingly great. And they are so versatile. I made some with white chocolate and almonds and put a little cinnamon in the butter sugar mixture. The were delicious as x-mas treats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Baked 11-13 minutes at 325 degrees F, so as to not burn them. Added extra pecans. Not bad, but something is missing... I tried it a second time and added a little Nutella to the chocolate coating for a nuttier flavor, however with this batch I used vegetable oil spread instead of butter- DON'T DO IT. If you're like me and trying to cut calories in your cooking, I understand, but this recipe really needs butter. My brittle turned out gooey and like caramel that will forever be stuck in your teeth. If you do make the same mistake I did, store the brittle in the freezer in between indulgences! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanne033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't really like this. It's very sweet and the crackers inside seem to have absorbed the butter and are greasy. It was easy to make, but I wouldn't do it again. I also think the caramel needed to cook more before pouring over the crackers, I usually do it on the stove and I think that method works a lot better than the microwave, even if it takes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I did use graham crackers as some others did just because I had them. I cooked this on the stove top rather than the microwave since my microwave is unpredictable. Then I only had to cook it for 10 minutes in the oven. I left off the chocolate chips and it tasted great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great easy recipe for holiday parties. I have made them twice now and are giving them away as holiday gifts in a plastic bag with xmas ribbon. I also used crushed almonds. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Super easy! Super sweet! I'm renaming this "Poor Mans Brittle Surprise"! Perfect low cost delish desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!*******!!!!!!!!!******* This is all I ever want to make for Christmas from now on! I melted my butter and dark brown sugar on stove. Easier for me to do so! This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This brittle is the best and easy to make - my son and grandchildren keep asking for more. I did replace the soda crackers with Cinnamon Graham Crackers and loved it. Be careful with the time in the oven - mine was done in 10 minutes and already bubbling. It would have burned if I didn't check it early. Otherwise, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abshoward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bear Creek, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States