Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It would have been great if only my chocolate chips melted by just sprinkling them on after I pulled the pan out of the oven, which they didn't. Then I tried putting the pan back in the oven to soften the chocolate but the chips turned cakey. Next time I will melt the chocolate in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I can't believe how good this is when it's so easy. 35 crackers is one sleeve and needs a cookie sheet that's 10" x 14." Be sure to cover the butter when you microwave it or you'll be cleaning up butter for a very long time! I like to use a whisk to really incorporate the brown sugar. I have found the cooking time to be too long - 13 minutes works better for me. Just make sure to use your nose; as soon as you smell anything resembling burnt, remove the sheet from the oven. Like others have sad, remember to push the nuts into the melted chocolate so that they don't fall off as often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
OMG! I had to remind myself that I'm a diabetic, it's so fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
So easy, soo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Love this recipe. With all the variations possible I can make five batches for cookie plates and they add great color. For two years the guys at work practically try to buy ingredients to get me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This treat is delicious! I was a little unsure about how it would taste with the soda crackers, but they actually don't taste at all like crackers once they're cooked. Tastes like toffee-- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've been making this recipe for many years and it's always a huge hit. I prefer to cook the butter and brown sugar mixture on top of the stove and that helps to cut the baking time down to 5 mins. There are so many variations that can be made, such as white chocolate with crushed candy canes or with dried cranberries and chopped pistachios, various nuts, peanut butter chips, etc. I've tried making them with graham crackers instead of the saltines and we found them to be WAY too sweet! Lastly, I pop the tray into the freezer to hurry the cooling along because my sons can't wait for them to cool before "taste-testing" them for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
this is easy and really good! in case it helps - for step 3 (when you're microwaving and mixing), make sure after the last 30 seconds in microwave that you REALLY mix. it may seem like the butter and sugar don't want to mix up, but they will, just make sure to keep at it til you get an even, smooth consistency. Also - when putting foil on your cookie tray, try to create 'walls' at the sides... my brittle bubbled over and made a bit of a mess of the oven. I used salted soda crackers and will only make it this way - a hint of salt with all that sugar and chocolate tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Holy heaven, this stuff is amazing! I accidentally bought salted crackers instead of unsalted and is can't imagine it any other way! I love it. Other than using salted crackers, I made the recipe exactly as is and it turned out perfect. I'm going to have to give this stuff away so I don't eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have any soda crackers in the house, but I did have oyster crackers, so I used them. When the chocolate melted a little I couldn't quite spread it on the oyster crackers, so I just stirred it all up. Happy days - it was great! I brought it in to work and it was gone in a flash. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States