Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe is so easy and flexible. Don't be afraid to use different crackers. I have used graham crackers and saltines. It always turns out great! This is a wonderful addition to my Christmas cookie tin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
easy and super tasty...but for some reason they came out a tad sweet??? i followed the recipe exactly, but i got some crystalized sugar at the bottom of my crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I loved them, my husband hated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Surprisingly super easy and fast to make with very little mess. I accidentally left out the foil, but this worked well anyway - just twisted the cookie pan to loosen and dumped it out as a solid sheet onto foil after cooled. Ddin't have soda crackers and thought salt would compliment the brittle nicely, so I used salted oyster crackers and they turned out very pleasing to the eye. Mine were a deep caramel color and looked to be on the verge of burning after only 10 min. In the end they are too buttery for my liking, which is why I gave them only 3 stars, but my boyfriend loves them and I like the texture quite a bit - might manipulate my old brittle recipe (which is unfortunately twice as complicated and 4x as messy) to inlucde oyster crackers next time and see how they turn out! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is an old family favorite, we love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
so delish!!! followed instructions came out perfect thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really good. I have also tried this with butterscotch chips (had them on hand and needed to use them) for teacher snacks- they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
if i could i would give these 4 1/2 stars... 5 for the taste (YUM!) and 4 for appearance. all went well (and was super easy) until i reached the chocolate chip stage... even after two minutes of sitting on top the hot brittle they wouldn't spread easily. i ended up with a grainy looking top :( i tried to pop them back in the oven but that didn't seem to help either. *sigh* next time i will either melt the chocolate first OR omit it all together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
As soon as I read "1 cup of butter" I knew it would be good! This was fast and tasty. Certainly great for a quick little treat. Used milk chocolate chips as it is our preference. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
It must be me but I'm not loving this. I was hoping to love it but that's not the case, it's good but not something I would crave. I first tried it using ghee (clarified butter) but it didn't work. The sugar melted but the butter never mixed in no matter how much I tried. I then used regular butter and it was fast to get the caramel color. I'll give this recipe another try when the holiday is near and see if my opinion changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States