Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made double batches of this recipe twice over the holidays and not a crumb was left. Sinfully delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. Everyone tht has ever tried it loves it. I found it on here years ago. It never seems to taste exactly the same twice. Like I said ive been making it for years n tonight's batch tastes best. Way to go shanaLee!! Idk whr u found this but my two boys love it best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was my first brittle and I loved it. Flop proof and easy. My friends thought it was store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I just made this for a Christmas event, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This certainly is an addicting, delishous, yummy recipe!! After reading reviews, I decided try both saltines and graham crackers in the same pan. I liked the graham crackers better...but that's a personal taste. Also, I found it a lot easier to crumble the crackers into small size pieces and put that on the pan instead of individual crackers. This way all the cracker pieces were covered with the sugar/butter mix. I was very disappointed that most of the pecans fell off the crackers so on my second batch I added in the cup of pecans to the sugar/butter mix BEFORE pouring over crackers. That worked out wonderful!! Be sure to buy extra of all incredients because you'll definetly want to make a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great receipe as is, but I prefer to use graham crackers instead of saltines. So yummy. Because of so many nut allergies, I now use crushed candy canes instead of nuts. I also do not spread my chocolate chips. I prefer how they look with whole chocolate chips. I also do not use foil- tried it once and could not get the foil off the brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Tried this today and it is DELICIOUS ! I used cinnamon graham crackers, dark brown sugar and cooked it and the butter on the stove until it was blended & bubbly and poured it over the graham crackers then shook a little bit of sea salt on top of that. It took about 14 minutes in the oven for the toffee to bubble. Took it out. Let it rest for a few minutes then tossed the chocolate bits on top, let them rest there for another few minutes, spread it, used chopped walnuts on top. Cooled for an hour or so in frig. - then cut the entire cookie sheet into bite sized pieces (it is rich!). SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe was sooooo awesome and simple! I followed the directions to a T except I didn't have a full cup of brown sugar so I added about 1/8 cup of white sugar. I used about one entire sleeve or pkg of saltines and had a little room left in the pan so I threw about 4 graham crackers on, since others had said they like that, too. I carefully microwaved per the directions; stirring every 30 seconds because someone else said that was very important. The butter/brown sugar recipe seemed to separate after nuking. I stirred and stirred but it didn't completely come together so I was a little worried. My oven runs quite hot so I lowered my temp to 325 and only baked for 12 mins. I saw it bubbling and didn't want it to burn so I took it out then. I was having trouble spreading my choc chips so I sprayed the back of a spatula and then was able to press/spread the chocolate more easily. I then sprinkled some macadamia nuts on top and placed in the fridge. When I broke the brittle a lot of the nuts fell off so I wished I had patted them down a little before refridgerating. Next time I'll know better! This was just so yummy and I really couldn't tell the difference between the grahams and saltines. Even my mom said it was super and she's super critical of everything! I'm going to make this as gifts because it's a guarantee homerun! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Delishisly addicting. Easy & fast to make if you have 15 minutes before people come over you can have them baking. They do slide like crazy though.. use a pan with edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I LOVE this recipe!! It's soooo simple to make! I leave the nuts off and always use saltine crackers. I saw where others have used graham crackers but I love most, the salty crackers with all the sugar and chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States